Soliloquy

Things have changed, yet everything is still the same.

I have no excuses for my absence, no explanations either. Today though, I need catharsis. An outlet for all the thoughts that rage through, incessantly.

I wonder at what is happening in Nigeria. As usual, the story is different depending on who you speak to. Some speak about how good things are, how they’d rather live in Nigeria than be a second-class citizen in someone else’s country. Others argue that the reality of living in Nigeria without having the right connections or the right name means you are a second-class citizen in your own country. What do you think?

Elections have been postponed till March and the naira is in free-fall. The incumbent presidential candidate is insistent he has done a good job so far, and reminds Nigerians of his benevolence in not locking up dissenters. The candidate for the opposition, a former head of state, is promising change. His campaign has been awash with stories of media manipulation and untruths. It is rumoured he is unwell, which in itself is not a bad thing. People get ill, and then they recover, or not. The subterfuge around the state of his health is bewildering. It matters not to me, one way or the other. I am disenfranchised, not being resident in Nigeria. And so are a lot of Nigerians who do live there. Some of my people are in the neighbouring counries of Chad and Cameroun, refugees who have been routed from their homes and livelihoods by Boko Haram. Voting is the last thing on their minds. All they want to do is survive. Live to see another day. And start again, despite having lost kith, kin, and wordly possessions. The PVC fiasco is another matter in itself. People who have changed their residence between the initial registeration exercise and the issuance of these cards have been disenfranchised in effect.

I am not a political pundit. I am not well versed in political matters. However, this is what I think. There is more honour in raising your hand up and admitting inefficiency, than trying to justify your inadequacies. I would rather vote for someone who says ‘I have made mistakes, I acknowledge this and would strive to do better’, than one who says ‘I repaired roads, and commissioned four naval warships in one day’. This is not good enough. As for the opposition, he is promising change, and I understand why this prospect is attractive to the electorate. I remember his previous term in office, and how the ‘War against Indiscipline’ seemed to make things work better. I am aware though, that no government can effect change in the mindset of a nation, no matter how well-intentioned they are. I do not see my people railing against corruption per se, they are merely indignant that the spoils are not accessible to them. And therein lies the rub.

The problem is with the people. They are the ones in government, and they are the ones pointing their fingers at the government. I believe in the oft-repeated mantra ‘e go better’, but when?

I had no idea what this was going to be about when I started writing. Whether to tell you about the Ecrew, what they’ve been up to, and tell you a bit about me. Theysay you can never forget how to ride a bicycle. I feared I had gotten rusty from not having written in yonks. I realise the words are there, just waiting to be released.

Thank you for stopping by 🙂

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Soliloquy

  1. Jennifer.A says:

    The words are definitely there, Joxy. What a brilliant and deep reflection. I was wondering where you were going with the politics but then I saw your conclusion, and that is my own conclusion as well.

  2. I’ve gotten to the point where I’m tired and just waiting for the day I can cast my vote. At this point my thoughts are “I know who I will vote for. You go and decide and vote for your own too.”

    However, I know that no matter who wins, things can’t begin to work until we ourselves start to change things. Nothing will get better until we stop illegally connecting our houses to the national electricity grip, until we stop illegally looping phases, until we stop beating red lights, until we stop driving without valid licenses and vehicle documents, until we stop paying/sleeping with lecturers for grades… If these are the same people that will eventually rule this country then they will be no better than the ones we point our fingers at today.

    Jonathan is not the solution, Buhari is not the change we need. If we the people obey the rule of law then it becomes easy to call our leaders to order but when we are just as corrupt as them in our places of work and everyday lives then who are we to cry for change and good governance?

  3. Nutty JAY says:

    ‘I would rather vote for someone who says ‘I have made mistakes, I acknowledge this and would strive to do better’

    I know you meant this line for GEJ, but in my head I have read it for GMB… one reason people can’t say ‘I am sorry’… is because they really are not sorry and they would feel awkward admiting to something they don’t feel.

    It is worrisome. Buhari was a fanatic, there is serious fear that he is an unrepentant fanatic, and yes it is a democratic dispensation, but does our system have the balls to tackle a Buhari that is unleashed and running wild with his own idea of how things should be done? Our system could not curtail the excesses of a supposed ‘weak’ GEJ thus allowing him and his adminstration run the country with a fistful of corruption with so much impunity and without scruples. Is it that same democratic system that will stop Buhari in his tracks if he begins to rule (not preside) anyhow at the expense of people’s fundamental human right?

    People don’t change ma… they may adjust their behaviour to suit certain circumstances but no one does a 360 degree turn around. We are all made in the likeness of God, and God does not change…He is the same today, tomorrow and forever,

    • Joxy says:

      With respect, I beg to disagree. People can, and do change. I would rather a person who has an awareness that things were not right in the past, and is willing to do better, than one who is presently blissfully unaware that all is not well. The reason God does not change is because He is faithful to honour His word as opposed to being incapable of change….

  4. Sola Akin says:

    Aunty, I was here, came there and I’m back home for good. My life vocation brings me in contact with people of different fields and status; the well to do, not well to do and just managing. I have sampled opinions, analysed ways of life and evaluated governance around here and I can say with all sense of responsibility that we need a change of hand. Nigeria cannot be ruled by trial and error! A six years of inactivity cannot just become active overnight. Will the opposition fared better? I wouldn’t know, but in my opinion, a new misrule is better than the already confirmed six years of misrule! We need change.

  5. livelytwist says:

    Welcome back. Words haven’t deserted you.
    Oh, there’s so much that can be said, but let me camp here:

    “The problem is with the people. They are the ones in government, and they are the ones pointing their fingers at the government.”

    We are the change we are looking for. Naija Bachelor captures some of my sentiments. I hope e go beta.

Comments welcome :)

