back for good?

It’s been a minute. I left that comment a few minutes ago on Sting’s blog. To be specific, on a blog post about farts in an enclosed space. Not her farts, someone else’s. On a small airplane. You can read all about it here. I found it hilarious. I’d linked to it from Nuttyjay’s blog, where she wrote about aging milk. It was such an apt post, and I could relate to everything. Check it out here.

I’d have missed both those posts if I hadn’t been on hiatus from FB. More on that later, maybe. You all know I like food right? Well, age and food has been catching up on me, so I decided to try reclaim my midriff. For the past few weeks, I’ve been downing oatmeal smoothies

Stunnababez smoothie

Stunnababez smoothie

 

and eating bulgur wheat like in this Middle Eastern salad I made, called tabboulehwpid-IMAG1202_1.jpg

 

and I have tried to cut out added sugar from my diet. I say tried, because this afternoon, I succumbed to gari and epa (with sugar), something I’d been craving for weeks, and I still feel pleasantly full, and dazed, this a good six hours after ingesting said meal.

I’d like to exercise too, but I have to be very careful, because the last time the mood struck me, so did tendonitis as I displeased one of my bionic hips in the process,and boy, did that hurt. This time I’m taking it easy. I am always slightly tired after watching my Blast off Belly Fat video, so I know I am on the right track.

Last year, Nkem set me a target, to drive to my parents’ with only the girls for company, no T. I was supposed to achieve this by August, I didn’t. This year, I was able to go one better. In April or so, I drove all the way to Enfield and back, on my own. This is over an hour away from where I live, and was a major achievement for me. No longer for me the title of ‘postcode driver’.

My girls are fine, and so is T, I remain thankful to God always for blessing me with these ones.  

 

I never intended to stay away this long, thank you for stopping by Smile.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to back for good?

  1. Jennifer.A says:

    Love your update JJ. LOL on succumbing to epa and garri.

  2. Sting says:

    That second picture, i spy some quinoa. That one na oyibo people food. I went for a potluck where someone brought something that looked like that picture. I made the mistake of sticking a spoonful in my mouth and had to use shame to chew and swallow because there was nowhere to spit it out. Lesson learned! lol.

    • Joxy says:

      It’s not quinoa o, it’s bulgur wheat. Kind of like cous cous, but chewier. It has an…..interesting flavour. I can just imagine you chewing away, and muttering under your breath too :D.

  3. Angelsbeauty says:

    I missed you! Was trying to remember the name of your blog 2 days aho to find out why the long break and voila here you are! 🙂

    • Joxy says:

      Ha! Trying to remember ke? Paga!!! Congratulations on your bambino :D. Olorun a wo, a de da si na, loruko Jesu. How did I miss that? And you are cooking and baking like there’s no tomorrow? I must come visit 🙂

      • Angelsbeauty says:

        Lol @ paga my memory has been quite bad these days even everyday words I forget! I got so used to getting your blogs straight to me email! Lol

        Amen o, thank you so much! That’s how I relax (she says) lol. You are welcome, just give me notice 😉

  4. Myne Whitman says:

    Welcome back. I hear you on reclaiming your midriff, it’s a struggle for me too. See you around.

  5. Good to have you back, I’ve missed you!

  6. livelytwist says:

    Back for good? Well, I hope so. Welcome! 🙂

  7. Toin says:

    Ah, welcome back!

Comments welcome :)

