The lady, his laps and the wealthy place

Having vented at length on Twitter, here are my thoughts on the matter.

A lady published an account of her affair with a pastor. She detailed the events that led up to the affair, the remorse she felt afterwards, and the steps she took to assuage the way she felt.

For ease of reference, I will refer to them as ‘A’ and ‘B’ for the rest of this piece of writing.

‘A’ did not at any time claim to have been sexually abused. She made this clear both in her blog post, and in her response to some commenters. She did however contend that she had been abused, and I agree with her here. A sexual relationship between her and her erstwhile pastor was an abuse of his position and power. End of.

Months after the affair ended, ‘A’ sought a measure of closure by getting him to admit that the relationship had been improper. She tried to get leaders/elders in the church to hear her out…in her own words…

‘I realized what happened between ….’B’… and I was wrong and not just that I felt abused and manipulated. I also said I thought it was wrong for … ‘B’ …..to go on preaching without taking time to deal with his personal character flaws. I said I thought he was danger to all the young women that attended the church.’

It is my understanding that it was on account of being stonewalled and persecuted that spurred her to go public.

I applaud her for so doing. It took guts, and a determination to be heard in spite of all the obstacles that were put in her way. It takes strength of character to lay yourself open to the harsh condemnatory remarks of the hypocritical rabble who make up most of the Nigerian church-going population, and it shows the force of her conviction.

She did not claim innocence, she admitted to being complicit in the affair, she held up her hand and admitted it all.

What more could she have done?

If ‘A’s account saves just one gullible female from being shown levels of grace via the laps of a predatory man of the cloth, then job done.

Her account kicked up a storm on Twitter, and there were lots of stones cast at ‘A’ for being an evil seductress who had dared touch God’s anointed.

‘B’ on the other hand kept shtum through the weekend.

And on Sunday, he strode to the pulpit and announced that ‘when we asked God, God said we should be quiet.’

He went on to say ‘we are going to speak, but we are consulting to come up with a robust reply.’

I am a bit confused.

First off, like my people would ask, ‘who are the we?’

Secondly, ‘If God said ‘they’ should be quiet, why the consultation for a robust reply?’

It is not rocket science. How much consultation is required to either say,

  • ‘I did it. I apologise for having done wrong, and also to those I have wronged. I will take time away from the pulpit to build up and restore my relationship with God, against whom I have committed the greater offence’  or
  • ‘I am innocent. I repudiate the scurrilous accusations that have been levied against me and my ministry, and I intend to prosecute the concerned individuals to the fullest extent of the law’

or words to that effect?

He claimed that people had been calling him, telling him to be quiet, to ignore the matter.

I can imagine the calls, maybe from fellow men of ‘God’, ‘How you fall our hands so na? Why you no cover your tracks well?’

There are people in COZA Abuja that know the truth, and are choosing to remain silent. Shame on them.

Shame on the church-going populace who are braying ‘we are not to judge’. Have you not also read in 1Peter 4:17 that ‘For the time has come for judgment to begin at the house of God….’

I think it is disgraceful that Pentecostal church leaders in Nigeria are not subject to any governing authorities and cannot be called to account. I think it is an a shame that other churches are silent on the matter.

And I know that confession or not, this will blow over. It is the Nigerian way. He will not step down from the pulpit. Previous experience has shown that pastors accused of sexual impropriety in the past have only taken a break from preying preaching when forced to do so by incarceration. And they bounce right back to the pulpit after doing their time.

But what does it matter? The important thing is that in every way, whether from false motives or true, Christ is preached. And because of this I rejoice.

As for Franca, may God keep you and your digital media safe. We await pictorial evidence with bated breath, although the die-hard defenders will accuse you of having resorted to Photoshop.

Thank you for stopping by Smile.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The lady, his laps and the wealthy place

  1. ”We await pictorial evidence with bated breath, although the die-hard defenders will accuse you of having resorted to Photoshop.”
    Well written, love you to pieces!

  2. Zinger says:

    I am patiently waiting for the other side of the story.
    He even showed face in church on sunday?
    what happened to church committee bouncing him pending outcome of whatever investigation, that is if there is anyone is ongoing sef.
    As usual we always blame the devil.

    • Joxy says:

      The anointing gets us into the wealthy place, but is no defence whatsoever against the devil. Or so they would have us believe. We are all waiting to hear :).

  3. Olaronke says:

    That is what Pentecostal churches are becoming .. laws onto themselves – if it isnt tax evasion or ‘holy divorce’ or female harassment/abuse (I can cite quite a few instances), it is private jets, g-wagons, range rovers and bodyguards …
    It is well …
    God is in our hearts not on the pulpits!!

    • Joxy says:

      Acquiring the trappings of wealth is not in itself a bad thing….it is when that detracts from the gospel, or becomes the reason why the message is preached that it becomes worrisome. ….and yes, many pulpits today are full of man and totally devoid of God, may He have mercy on us.

  4. This was very very well said This is exactly what I would have written if I could get past my rage for even 5 minutes. Thank you for proving to me that I am not crazy. Some of us still think with our heads. There is hope.

Comments welcome :)

