Choleric temperament?

The first time I heard the word choleric was about 17 years ago. I was seated in front of our counselling pastor, T was beside me, we were in the middle of a courtship counselling session.  I was furious, as my brain immediately associated the word with cholera. I hope I managed to mask my fury as Pastor D went on to explain that there were four temperament types, and choleric was one of them. Nothing to do with cholera. Before I go on, I must hasten to add that T is nothing like me. He is calm, relaxed, even-tempered, and very nice. I am nice too.

I often left those counselling sessions with red eyes, after shedding floods of tears during them. I was convinced the pastor was biased against me, he never ever seemed to take my side, and all my eloquence fell on deaf ears, or so I thought. And so I cried. Looking back now, I am thankful that I shed those tears then, as it saved me from shedding them after marrying T. One of the things Pastor D taught me is that my way is not necessarily the right way, no matter how articulately I can put it across. We are two totally different types T & I, and yet we get along.

Back to the present. I was minding my own business as always, when my friend Toks decided to update her blog. She called her blog post ‘The Personality Test’, and being the good friend that I am, I decided to read it. I was totally blown away. She had taken this test that summed her up to a t. As I read, I could see and hear her. We talked, and laughed over how true to type this personality test thing was, and then I remembered my dear Pastor D, and what he had said. I recounted my experience to her, and then casually mentioned that I might take the test too.

I had forgotten about it till tonight, when I went ahead and took the test. I actually took two different tests. Well, two and a half. I was half-way through the third when I had the nagging suspicion that I would end up with the same result, so I bailed. They both claimed I am choleric. I tweeted about it, and a kind friend gave me this definition from The Free Dictionary, I suspect.

chol·er·ic  (kl-rk, k-lrk)

adj.

1. Easily angered; bad-tempered.
2. Showing or expressing anger.
It goes without saying that I do not possess either of these attributes.
My nickname when I was much younger was Dynamite. I must have acquired it due to my shy, retiring nature. Age has further mellowed me. ‘Enough rambling. What are the traits joo?’ I hear you ask. Okay, here goes.
Choleric types possess qualities like being active, dynamic, decisive, strong willed, self sufficient, independent, unemotional, and are not discouraged easily. They can also be bossy, impatient, unable to relax, quick tempered, enjoy arguments or controversies, unsympathetic, and too impetuous. They can be highly organized or highly disorganized, and are prone to mood swings.
In the past, I used to cry when I got angry. This was because I would imagine all the ways I could eviscerate the offending party using nothing but a few carefully constructed words, and I would cry because I knew the damage words can do and I could not bring myself to hurt them that way, no matter how deserving I felt they were. So I would bite my tongue and cry.
All I can say is that like fine wine, I have improved with age. I now understand why I do not sit down and brood when I hear someone said something about me. If it bothers me sufficiently enough, I pick up the phone and ask outright, no matter who they are.  I actually prefer asking face to face, preferably if the person that told me is right there too. I tend to do it without warning either party, I am direct like that.
I do not think the test is totally conclusive, but one or two or the traits definitely strike a chord. One of the things I disagree with though is the ‘inability to relax’. Those that know me well, know that I have elevated taking things easy to an art form, relaxation is my middle name. One of my favourite phrases is ‘mi o le se wahala joo.’
Apropos of nothing, I made a roast on Sunday. It tasted very nice. I thought you’d like to see a picture. Here goes.
Boneless loin joint roast

Boneless loin joint roast

I took the test here, you might want to try it out too. Thanks as always, for stopping by :).
About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Meet me and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Choleric temperament?

  1. Nutty Jay says:

    Na wa oooo….the way you described choleric here, do I need to take the test? It sounds like me o. But like you, I am also improving as time passes.

    ‘ …If it bothers me sufficiently enough, I pick up the phone and ask outright, no matter who they are. ‘. That’s why people don’t report to me on gossips they hear about me, cos I always confront the gossips nd reporters immediately.

    Happy New Year my sista my friend. I love you always.

  2. Nutty Jay says:

    Just did the test… My results are in:

    ‘Your temperment is choleric. The choleric temperament is fundamentally ambitious and leader-like. They have a lot of aggression, energy, and/or passion….bla bla bla’

    Lol

  3. Lucy says:

    Oyibo po. Thanks for enriching my vocabulary. Good read. But, o ma nbinu o.

  4. Interesting test! The jury is still out on what it says about me. And no, I’m not telling 😦

  5. Joxy says:

    Not like you to be bashful, pray tell, or is that emoticon a hint? 😀

  6. Deronk says:

    Uhmmmm, I have always seen myself as a mix between phlegmatic and melancholic but never taken the test. More melancholic. Would take the test though. Did the Myers-Briggs test once though. Off to take the test.

    • Deronk says:

      I think such tests are generalizations. You would find some of yourself in some and other parts in others.

    • Deronk says:

      I was right. Melancholic. “Your temperment is melancholic. The melancholic temperament is fundamentally introverted and thoughtful. Melancholic people often were perceived as very (or overly) pondering and considerate, getting rather worried when they could not be on time for events. Melancholics can be highly creative in activities such as poetry and art – and can become preoccupied with the tragedy and cruelty in the world. Often they are perfectionists. They are self-reliant and independent; one negative part of being a melancholic is that they can get so involved in what they are doing they forget to think of others”.

      Describes me perfectly.

  7. Lol. The only reason I won’t take the test is that I don’t want to be told adjectives that don’t describe me correctly (even if they are close to accurate). Don’t want to get something stuck in my brain now. Lol. In other news, that roast looks yummy! 🙂

    • Joxy says:

      Hey Jaycee, Happy New Year! For me, the test results highlighted an area I was not aware of, and one I definitely need to work on, so it was a worthwhile exercise. I agree however, that it might not be appropriate for everyone. The roast? It was yummy! Thank you :).

  8. N says:

    Okay, took the test and I plead the 5th…Haba!

  9. Ginger says:

    haha. Joining your company of cholera errr cholerics. not sure it best describes me. A bit extreme.
    Ah well, Happy New Year Joxy! Dear Lord, this is the year i feast from Joxy’s kitchen, Somebody say Amen!!

  10. Pingback: Pawpaw & Mango Blog

Comments welcome :)

