The year that was…..2012

It has been an eventful year, and rather than wait for next year before I give thanks to the One who holds my life and times in His hands, I thought I’d do so now.

The E-crew! How they’ve grown! E3 was a few months old when I started blogging, now she’s all of three and a half! E1 turned 9 this month, E2 was 5 in February. For these ones the Lord has seen fit to bless me with, I am truly thankful.

E1 took up clarinet lessons in May. It was the first time she (or even I) had seen the instrument up close. In December she took the Grade 1 clarinet lesson and passed with a merit. E2 started piano lessons in September, and has already whizzed through Book 1, her teacher says she just seems to understand the notes instinctively. I do my part, take them to lessons, try to get them to practice at home etc, but I am always aware that any gifts or talents they possess are due to an outpouring of God’s grace in their lives, and for that  I am thankful.

E3 started nursery, and is thriving there. She had no adjustment issues, took to it like a fish to water, and I now have free time on my hands. While I have not written that book everyone assures me is on the insides of me, I am thankful in the knowledge that it will surely come.

You know how there are some lessons you wish you had never learned? Well, I am no student of physiology, but I was forced to learn that a muscle called the psoas resided within my body, which when inflamed, possessed the ability to bring me crashing to the floor, literally. Lesson learnt. I stayed off my feet, prayed, and used ibuprofen. It got better, and I came off the crutches. My orthopaedic consultant said it was more common in skinny women. Turned out I had lost about 2 kg so that probably applied to me..then. T brought me ice-cream in bed faithfully for a while after that, I am now nicely rounded..and thankful for the husband I have.

I am thankful for T. He takes care of me and our children. He is aware of my imperfections and shortcomings and loves me in spite of them.

My mum had major surgery. A rib was taken out and used to repair two of her spinal disks. I Googled the operation after she’d had it, and was amazed at what she’d had to go through. She is in her seventies. She had a lengthy recuperation period and it was painful, but she pulled through and is walking around unaided today. I am thankful to God for this, and for having been in the position to help, however little.

T stayed in employment throughout the year. I am thankful to God for this.

I am thankful for my blogging family, some of whom I haven’t had the pleasure and honor of meeting yet. Nutty Jay and Deronk are two very special kind-hearted young ladies, and I am excited about the great things I know the future holds for them. N and Ikhide  are two of the  most complex people I know, and I am thankful for the social media that caused our paths to cross.

I went through the year without undergoing any form of surgery. After averaging one or two surgeries a year for the past 8 or so years, this was a record. For some of my readers, good health is something you take for granted. As for me, I am daily reminded of my mortality, and am thankful to God for keeping me healthy, and on this side of eternity.

A tenant of ours decided to turn our three-bedroom Victorian property into a cannabis greenhouse. Fortunately, he’d only been in occupation for about a month when we discovered, otherwise things could have been a lot worse. I am thankful to God for the sequence of events that led to the discovery, and for His ability to restore all things.

One might scoff and ask why God did not prevent all these not so pleasant occurrences from happening. I am no theologian and have no answers. I do know though, that He made a way through it all, and I have come out smiling.

I am thankful that I was able to write about issues that are dear to my heart, and I hope to do more of this in the coming year.

My friends, those of you that nag me to write, those of you that take the time to critique and edit my work, those of you that share my writing so it reaches a wider audience, I am thankful to and for you. Nkem, Toks, I appreciate you very much.

This is more disjointed than I intended. The year draws to a close and I must get my crew ready for church.

I am thankful for 2012, and hopeful for 2013. I owe all that I am to Jesus Christ, who loved me and still loves me.

I am thankful for you my readers, as I wish you a Happy New Year. As always, thank you for stopping by :D.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Meet me and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The year that was…..2012

  1. Happy new year to you too

  2. N says:

    And somewhere in all that jumble is thanks for me too. Yes! I’m special like that!

  3. Happy New Year! Disjointed? This is plenty good…and coherent! 🙂

  4. Tessy says:

    Hmm.. I thank God for you, for his mercies.

  5. Deronk says:

    Thank you ma’am. Have a great year

Comments welcome :)

