Onaopemipo

It’s a new year. To be accurate, we are 10 days into the year 2012, and this post is way overdue. My first post each year is devoted to thanksgiving, for God has been, and indeed still is, very good to me. For non-Yoruba speakers, the title of this post means I have many reasons to be thankful….so in no chronological order, here goes.

2011 was the year in which ….

….my children and I got our first Nigerian passports, and were able to go on a visit to Nigeria for four whole weeks (for me, this was after a period of about 16 years). For this Lord, I am thankful.

….I underwent major surgery successfully, and made a  full recovery. It is not everyone that goes into an operating theatre that emerges with the issues corrected, or even emerges alive. For the fact that all went well, I am thankful Lord.

….T was able to get employment in his chosen field, after a four month stretch in which he studied to improve his skill set, looked after me and our children while I recuperated, and proved over and over again why I had made the right decision in marrying him. Father God, through this period you showed your faithfulness constantly, we were low on funds but rich in the things that really matter. You drew us together as a family and T got to spend quality time with us and with you. For this Lord, I am thankful.

.…My children turned 4, 2 and 8 in that order. They are lovely children, a credit to any parent, and they bring us much joy. For this Lord, I am thankful.

….My dad progressed from using a walker. to using crutches, to walking short distances unaided. It was an uphill task, but you strengthened him through it in spite of his advanced years. For this Lord, I am thankful.

….My mum was there whenever I needed her, there was nothing that was too much trouble for her to do when it concerned me or my children. She is an example of what mothering is truly about, going the extra mile, just because. For this Lord, I am thankful.

….For family, for friends, and for you my readers…Lord, I am thankful.

Happy New Year! May we all achieve greater things this year than we did in the previous one, in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Thanks for stopping by Open-mouthed smile.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Meet me and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Onaopemipo

  1. nuttyjay says:

    I thank God with you for you and your family.

    May the good Lord continue to bless you and may your testimonies be permanent. Amen

  2. Jaycee (E.A) says:

    Awwwww…praise God for all these many testimonies. God is FAITHFUL.

  3. Mary T. says:

    May you always have reasons to praise the name of the Lord. So happy 4 you.

    • Joxy says:

      Thank you so much for stopping by my sweet aburo, and for commenting too. May we all have reasons to praise His name. Ose gani :).

  4. Aderonke Taiwo says:

    Joxy baby,

    I thank God Almighty (The Aribirabata, Arabaribiti) on your behalf and I am happy that I read your thanksgiving blog. The testimonies are awesome and it is always good to look back once in a while and be thankful even in the midst of challenges and trials.

    Lord, I pray that my sister’s testimonies shall be permanent and the Lord will do much more than all she has testified in 2012 in Jesus name…amen

    • Joxy says:

      Ronke, thank you so much for stopping by, and for your prayers too. So may it be in your life as well in Jesus name, amen. Ose gani ore mi :).

  5. Ginger says:

    I don’t know what can top those testimonies from 2011 but when you serve a God like ours, you know his mercies are new every morning 🙂

    You’ve got a great Mom. God bless her real good.

  6. Deronk says:

    May your testimonies be permanent.

    Funny you posted it on a day that marked a year I had my surgery too and I realized I had every reason to be thankful.

    Happy new year too

  7. Deronk says:

    Where is Just Joxy o? Longest time. Trust you are fine sha

  8. Vera Ezimora says:

    we have finished celebrating New Year and you’re still missing

Comments welcome :)

