Tootin’ my horn

I’ve been AWOL for so long, and I’ve got no excuses. I’ve had brilliant ideas for blog posts, but they have remained just that – ideas, till events have superseded them and I no longer see them as viable topics. I have no idea as to how long this state of affairs would have continued for till I got tagged by FavouredGirl, and then went one step further by committing to posting before this weekend runs out.  So here we are.

I’m supposed to write ten positive things about myself, so here goes.

  1. I try hard not to generalise because I know for a fact that not every Nigerian is a cyber-criminal attempting to scam you of your hard earned money. There is a saying that a fool and his money are soon parted but again I am sure this does not apply to all the 419 victims who decided to fly in the face of common sense and willingly divulge details of their bank accounts and or life savings to those Nigerians who do happen to be cyber criminals. I know that not every one who is of Oriental descent is a great cook, and not every one who happens to carry the sickle cell gene or traits thereof will die early in life due to a sickle cell related illness. Oh, and not every dictator will escape being beaten and shot in the head like a rabid dog while being surrounded by a crowd baying for his blood. So, I try not to generalise.
  2. I am outspoken. If I believe in a cause strongly enough, I will ensure my voice is heard. It is not essential that I sway others to my way of thinking, it is enough for me that I do not stay silent.
  3. I have a great sense of humour, and can see the humour in almost every situation, even at my own expense.
  4. I have a high pain threshold. This is very personal to me, and I am not stating this so the next time we meet you’ll squeeze my hand in a handshake so firm you’ll crack my bones just to check for the moment I’ll scream. I’m just saying this is something that has stood me in good stead over the years. Anyone that has been sliced open as many times as I have would appreciate this attribute too I’m sure.
  5. I am a good cook. I love food. I love to cook, and more often than not, I get compliments. Not always, but most times.
  6. I am feisty. Self-explanatory really.
  7. I do not get involved in pointless arguments. If for instance you believe you are descended from apes and monkeys, I won’t spend my time trying to make you believe that God once walked amongst us in human form, and then died, that we might live. I might share what I believe, but I won’t argue with you.
  8. I am friendly, though this is not always immediately apparent.
  9. I am adventurous. This has led to me travelling to places like Beirut and Leiden after striking up friendships with natives of the said places.
  10. I am a pretty good writer. It has taken me 22 minutes to write all this. Why then has it taken me so long to update this blog?

Thanks for the tag FG. I hereby tag Thewordsmythe and Pawpawandmango.

Thanks as always for stopping by Smile. Please forgive any typos, and come back soon.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Meet me and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Tootin’ my horn

  1. Me first!!!!
    At last……We have waited. And waited. And waited some more for Justjoxy to be updated!
    You left out some points:
    You are a good friend
    You are a good mother
    You are not judgmental
    You are feisty.. oh sorry you wrote that!

    Thanks so much for gracing us once more with your fine writing, I feel honored to have been tagged!

  2. Joxy says:

    My ever faithful cheeerleader!!! Thanks Toks :D.

  3. Jaycee says:

    Lol @ #1 & #10. You definitely have a great sense of humor, even at your own expense. I loved reading this. I have a friend who has SS but is so much stronger than anyone else I know on earth. She continues to be an energizer bunny. 🙂 Oh, yeah…not all dictators will get shot in the head like a rabid dog.

  4. Madame Sting says:

    Hey, love ur list. Thought of checking up on u via email but didn’t follow through.

  5. Myne Whitman says:

    Yes o, we should toot our horns well well. I like your list, I think you have a sense of humor too, and I like feisty! LOL…

    • Joxy says:

      Myne, thought I’d put the feisty thing out there before it got pointed out, lol. Thanks, and for stopping by too :).

  6. Kiru Taye says:

    Good cook, eh? I look forward to tasting your food soon. 😉

  7. BISIWURA says:

    The love cooking part of the thing i can stake my intergrity upon.

  8. gidannodza says:

    FINALLY!!! An update 😀
    Letmeseeletmesee I gotta add to that list na…
    Though I’ve just known you for a short period -not fair 😥 I will definitely agree with pawpawandmango. I will also add generous, strong and accommodating to the list myself… I would have added a superb writer,great mom but that has been mentioned already.
    Abeg don’t be MIA for long 🙂

    • Joxy says:

      Amina, yaya dai? Thanks for the kind comments :D, I’m quite touched. As for the MIA part, will try to do much better in future :).

  9. Ginger says:

    I kept thinking I should call Joxy. See me see call. glad to know you are alright.
    This post took you 22 mins to write? high five!! it would have taken me an hr or more. I enjoyed getting to know more about you.

    Schedule the next 22 mins for the next post. thank thee

  10. Deronk says:

    #1, true. Some much myth surrounding them, they don’t live past a certain age and all… Had a friend who lived past that age. Know a couple of others too way past the mythical age… And for 419 victims, I don’t get people at times. We can be really careless. Tho not a 419 story this happened a while back. Am in my car waiting for someone at a bank and this guy is just some distance from me giving out details to someone else over the phone. He apparently sent $2000 to the guy from the bank to the pin to security question and answer, I just sat in my car and am like if I was a fraudster, all I needed was a proof of identification (and in fact I heard the recipient’s name when he called him) and that money was mine.
    # 5, when can I come to taste?

Comments welcome :)

