Back to school

Two Sundays ago, I woke up with just one thought on my mind. The girls were returning back to school the next day after having been on holiday for about seven weeks, and almost nothing was ready.

Every year, when the girls break up from school, I make a mental (and sometimes verbal) resolution to have all their uniforms sorted and ready for the next school year by the third week of their holidays. Every year, I fail miserably. Maybe next year.

Anyways, as I lay in bed, I thought to myself that all I needed to do was iron their uniforms. I soon discovered how wrong I was. Almost every dress needed hemming or stitching of some sort. I have a sewing machine, bought it almost eight years ago, but I’ve never used it. I bought a book on sewing over a year ago, flicked through a few pages, then stuck it into the bookcase and promptly forgot all about it till now. That’s another story for a different day.

And so I spent the day stitching, and ironing. And labelling. And muttering to myself as I searched or one thing or the other. I made it into bed a few minutes before Monday morning with a huge sigh of relief.

On Monday I watched my girls as they struggled with their various bags. E1* had her school satchel, PE bag, swimming bag and boot bag. Included in there somewhere was three pairs of shoes, not counting the ones she was wearing.

E2* was starting her first day of proper school. She looked like a mini E1* in her blazer and straw hat. Her satchel almost dwarfed her, but she carried it happily. I had her PE and swimming bags. Her shoes were a size too big, and E1*’s were a size too small, but I figured a couple of days wouldn’t do them any harm.

I had gone into Clarks’ on Saturday and had almost fainted at the prices of their school shoes. I got their feet measured and headed home to my laptop and Ebay. I got a brand new pair of Clarks shoes for E2* at a savings of £16 rom the shop price. The following Tuesday, I went to the Clarks outlet shop and got a pair for E1* at a saving of £15. Both girls went to school on the Wednesday in brand new, well-fitting shoes, and I had saved a bit of money in the process.

Fast forward to today, and I am typing away while E3* is sitting next to me watching Curious George on the telly. I’m sorry I was away for so long, and I hope to be back with more posts soonish.

*E1 – the child formerly known as Egirl.

*E2 – the child formerly known as Etoddler.

*E3 – the child formerly known as Ebaby.

Thanks as always for stopping by Smile.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Meet me and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Back to school

  1. JustDoyin says:

    A woman after my own heart – who says u have to pay full price for good quality? lol. Good job Joxy.

  2. Myne Whitman says:

    Hmmm…things to look forward to, eh? LOL…

    Well done you!

  3. The job of a mummy eh? Thanks for the bargain hunting tip. £38 for a pair of shoes? Something they will most likely outgrow in less than six months. Hmmm.

    Hope you and the family are doing great!

  4. I’ve missed you!!! You’ve renamed the girls too! You are supermum, well done. And nothing like a bargain, did you get that warm feeling allover? Lol!

    • Joxy says:

      Missed you too, welcome back to Blogsville. Supermum ke? Far from it, just determined to make every penny go as far as it legally can :).

  5. Jaycee (E.A) says:

    LOL. I love this post. For you to have snuggled into bed that late before Monday, you’re a GREAT mum. Unprepared or not….MISSED YOU SO MUCH. I love your “mummy” posts!!!

Comments welcome :)

