Sugabelly’s language challenge/ Sunshine Award

Translation

Welcome to JustJoxy’s blog, coming to you from Blogsville.

I am Joxy, and I hope I have met you all in good health. I too, am well here.

I was going through Blogsville as is my wont, when I noticed Sugabelly’s Language Challenge. As a result of this, I decided to record my voice too.

I want to use this opportunity to thank all the people who gave me the Sunshine Award (this means that when they read my blog, it is as if a ray of sunshine permeates their surroundings). I want to thank Naijamuminlondon also known as NIL, and, and, ah! It was only NIL that awarded me. Your hand will continue to reach high, your ink will not run dry, you will not grow tired, thank you very much.

I know it is a bit overdue, but I too would like to give a shout out to those whose blogs I enjoy reading.

TheWordsmythe, are you okay? Verastic, how are you? Nittygritty, are things sweet? NIL, is all well? Myne, truly (play on words), Sting, what’s happening? PawpawandMango, long time…That name always makes me feel hungry, I’m off to look for a snack. Thanks for listening, goodbye.

That is more or less a direct translation. So some sentences might not sound quite right. I only realised I had left out Jaycee when I played back the recording. I could not face doing yet another take, so Jaycee…mo nki e o :).

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Sugabelly’s language challenge/ Sunshine Award

  1. Jaycee (E.A) says:

    Your Yoruba sounds so fluent…I like.

  2. sugabelly says:

    Wow you speak Yoruba so clearly and so confidently. Your entry is amazing!!! Thanks for participating! I’ve added it to the official entry page.

    Cheers

    ^_^

  3. AMI ohhhhhhh *rubbing my palms together and looking upwards*
    eshe aburo mi
    You are a true daughter of the soil, your Yoruba is so fluent
    Great job
    xoxox

  4. I know your Yoruba is fluent. You always speak it to me even though I only understand a fraction of what you say.
    Anyway well done on the challenge. This is not one I’ll be undertaking lest the elders of my village, upon hearing my recording in my language, send out the dialect police to arrest me.

    Thanks for the shout out.

    • Joxy says:

      Thanks, don’t mind me jare. Please take up the challenge, it is not about how well you speak it, it is just about speaking it, putting your language out there, representing. S’o ti gbo :)?

  5. Ginger says:

    WoW Justjoxy, that was so clear. Well done!!
    lol@Wordsmythe’s comment about the elders of her village arresting her.

    p.s. Mon nki e ooo. Eshe adupe lopo lopo. Chukwu gozie gi.

    • Joxy says:

      Ginger! Thank you and amen. God bless you too, real good 🙂 P.s. Your Yoruba ain’t bad either, ta lo ko e? 🙂

  6. Kiru Taye says:

    You have a clear news reading voice. Maybe you should be a yoruba newscaster. :o))

  7. Vera Ezimora says:

    I got mentioned!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Woot, woot!!! Your Yoruba is just as good as my Igbo *snickering*

    Okay, fine. It’s hella good!! Dang!! I have a long way to go ooo. I guess you have bragging rights in the language department. Whatever!!!!! LOL.

    And to answer the question you asked Verastic, the answer is: dada ni! Mo gbadun. [Walahi, I didn’t seek help to answer. I did it all on my own :D]

    • Joxy says:

      Vera, well done on your answer, tbh though, didn’t expect any less from you with a friend like Funmie :).

  8. 'Lara says:

    Your Yoruba is way better than mine…lol@ kilon whatssup. love this.

  9. Justdoyin says:

    Waoh! I think you really tried…you sound so very like a Yoruba NewsCaster. Weldone Joxy.

  10. Myne Whitman says:

    Ahh, you can give news in Yoruba o, lol. Thanks for the shoutout. How you guys doing?

    • Joxy says:

      Yoruba newscaster again? Thanks Myne :). We’re good thanks girls keeping me very busy, Just back from yours, sorry about your hand, speedy healing IJN.

  11. OMGoodness! You ARE good, I have renewed respect for yo! I knew you were good in Yoruba, but I didn’t expect this. It takes me right back to LTV, or was it OGTV that read the news in Yoruba? you’re even better, lovely voice too!
    Ok enough of the sweetening 🙂

Comments welcome :)

