Grateful

A dear friend told me she had missed reading my blog, and asked when I was going to write again. My reply? ‘I don’t feel like writing, I need to concentrate on my recovery, body no be wood’ She understood, and said ‘no pressure’. And there the topic ended. I was being truthful when I said I didn’t feel like writing, but it’s not as if a million and one post haven’t been jostling about in my thoughts, each one wanting to be the first to get written. I have reined them all in, and will start with this.

I am grateful to Jehovah Rohi, the Lord God my Shepherd.

I was able to travel to Nigeria with my family for the first time in 16 years in April. I was very excited at the thought of seeing my beloved country again, and for the opportunity to show my children where they are from. I was touched when I heard Egirl tell a teacher at school that she was going ‘home’ to Nigeria on holiday. There was lots of drama preceding our trip, none the least of which was obtaining our Nigerian passports. It was my first ever Nigerian passport, and the hoops I jumped through to obtain it has made me value and cherish my very own green card (and pages) very dearly. We eventually got our passports a day before we travelled, you can not begin to imagine the relief we felt. ‘Did you leave off applying for them too late?’ I hear you wonder. ‘No o, we applied for them in January’ but that whole story is a blog post in itself. Soon to come. And before you ask, I wasn’t incarcerated for any period of my sojourn away from home, I just didn’t get round to making it back. So there.

Our stay there was great, we travelled from Lagos to Akure, and from there to Efon-Alaaye, and then back to Lagos. The girls took to it like ducks to water, they had a blast. And God kept us safe throughout. No accidents, no mishaps. Thank you Jesus.

I am grateful to Jehovah Rapha, the Lord God my Healer.

A week to the day after we returned, I had a meeting with the surgeon and his scalpel, for the purpose of increasing my bionicity. Everything went well, the surgeons were pleased, and so was I. I was in hospital for about five days, my orthopaedic and haematology consultants said I looked too healthy to be on admission, so I was discharged. Glory be to God. It’s been three weeks now, I can walk about without crutches for short periods, and I am truly thankful to God. Not just for seeing me through yet another gruelling bout of surgery, but for blessing me with the husband I have.

T has been great. He has taken time off work, and has been caring for me and our girls. No easy task I tell you, but he has carried it off admirably. Dispensing my medication, bathing and caring for the girls, ferrying them to and from school, cooking for and feeding us, all this without complaining, I really do thank God. I truly believe he has been a great part of the reason I have recovered so well, so quickly. I have not had to worry or think about anything except protecting my healing hip from  the energetic exertions of Ebaby, and for this I am thankful. It is no small thing to be accepted and loved the way you are, flaws and all. He’ll probably never read this, but thank you T, you rock my world.

I am thankful for family, and for friends. For calls that kept coming in, for the messages that were sent. For your visits, your well wishes, and for your prayers. The Lord will hear you when you call upon Him, He will answer you in the day of trouble in Jesus name. Amen.

I hadn’t felt like writing, but when I thought of God’s goodness, and all He has done for me since I went AWOL on this blog, I realised I had to write. If only to say ‘Thank you Lord’.

I am grateful for you my reader, as always, thanks for stopping by Smile.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Meet me and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Grateful

  1. I am glad that your trip went smoothly
    What got me was your statement ‘It is no small thing to be accepted and loved the way you are, flaws and all’
    Yes, we all have physical flaws but some of the physically perfect ones are often emotionally/ psychologically flawed.
    Thank God you are coping and getting better. May the Lord continue to strengthen you and protect your family.
    All my love to you and yours
    Have a blessed week

    • Joxy says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words and prayer, I am so touched. Amen and amen. May His blessings never cease in your life, may His good success attend all you do IJN. Love you right back :).

  2. I am grateful your quest for bionicity is proving successful. I am grateful you had a great time in Nigeria. I am grateful you are back and I am grateful you wrote this post.
    Thanks 😮

    • Joxy says:

      Ore mi, it is not a small thing. To God be the glory. Thanks for nudging me to start writing again :D.

  3. anoda phase says:

    Oh, you nearly drew a tear from my eye when I read how your hubby cared for you and ur children while u were ill…thank God for great hubbys…I’m pleased that you are better now…all glory to God…

  4. Jaycee says:

    When we think about God’s goodness, you know we can’t help but testify. Praise God!!!

    The part where you wrote about your husband was the most touching to me. Thank God that He blessed you with such a caring, loving, man.

    Praising God with you…

    • Joxy says:

      Jaycee! Our God is good, all the time. I am truly thankful for all He has done and is doing in my life, and for T too. Thank you love :).

  5. Myne Whitman says:

    I join you in saying Thank God! He is ever so faithful. I’m glad to hear you’re much better, and more blessing to T and to your whole family.

  6. My dear, we thank God for His mercies. He is faithful and always looking out for His people in small things and great things like a surgery.
    I’m glad it all went well and you’re doing great. I’m also glad you have T to take care of you and the girls. Good to have you back.

  7. Ibhade says:

    GOD BE PRAISED! I rejoice with you my dear sister.. ((hugs))…..glad you enjoyed yourself in Nigeria. Take care you hear and special greetings to your husband.

  8. Ibhade says:

    p.s..sorry for reading this late ….i am behind in my blog rounds because of lack of time on my part and tiredness…hope you understand? 🙂

  9. Madame Sting says:

    Thank God that you are feeling better and for your trip to naija. I’m just itching to ask what the medical issue is because you mentioned hematologist and orthopedics but i will respect your privacy and not ask 🙂

    How come you haven’t had a Nigerian passport before now? Just curious.

  10. Joxy says:

    Thank you Madame Sting, the medical issue? Now that you have aced physio and all those courses that were giving you aggro, I give you carte blanche to research into possible reasons why the two fields might be involved, no penalties for incorrect answers 🙂
    As for the naija passport, just never got round to getting one, had a resident’s permit while living in Nigeria….

  11. Madame Sting says:

    I like challenges…i bet i can figure this out. Just give me time. Ermmm…resident permit in Nigeria? Are you not Nigerian? What am i missing?

    • Joxy says:

      I’m sure you can, there are a few clues in older blog posts….:). I’m Nigerian to the core, just never got round to getting a passport, used the other one instead. Since I had to get Nigerian passports for the kids, thought I’d kill two birds with a stone. Plus it’s cheaper to get a passport than get a visa…..

Comments welcome :)

