Home training

And here’s more from my guest blogger, enjoy…..

I was having a conversation with my mother in law – one of the sweetest women I know; this is not to say, how do I put this delicately, she doesn’t upset me occasionally but that’s just like anyone of us would annoy each other, not the legendary mother in law annoying syndrome.  Anyway, I digress; we were talking about my mother and mum in law commending some of my cooking asked how I learned how to make a particular meal.  I told her it was my mum who taught me.

Now that wouldn’t, under normal circumstances, be extraordinary but what is unique here is the fact that my mum, a perfectly able-bodied woman and a professional caterer! (ohhhh yes) never stepped into the kitchen when at home.  She conducted her culinary skills and tutorials from her armchair in the living room.  So if mum wanted me to cook a pot of stew, she would tell me all the ingredients required, instruct me to place these in a pot and place on the cooker.  Then halfway, I would be required to take it off the cooker, with mum shouting to me to make sure I didn’t burn my fingers in the process, bring it to her majesty on her throne who would take one look at it, stir it and instruct that I return it to cook for another period of time.  With stunning accuracy, mum would later shout out to me to turn the burner off as the stew would be cooked to the consistency she loved.

And so I learned to cook; amazingly not just me, but the succession of relatives and house helps that lived with us.  Mum’s unique way of teaching was not confined to cooking only but all other aspects of domestic life – all conducted from the comfort of the living room or bedroom.  We learned to change bed linen, tucking the sheets with hotel like precision; we learned to dust, wash and pay attention to our personal hygiene to near clinical standards.  Today, I proudly apply all those skills in my own home – I only wish I had the luxury of orchestrating my empire from my armchair.

Thanks for stopping by 🙂


About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Home training

  1. Ibhade says:

    Nothing like good home training ..then we might think we were being ‘punished’ but at the long run…..it pays off.

  2. Agree with Ibhade and I also believe that boys and girls should be taught the basics – make your bed, personal hygiene, how to sweep, mop floors and cook simple dishes – and encouraged to be independent.

    An independent adult (male or female) is more likely to be a success

  3. Madame Sting says:

    lol @ the last sentence. Your mom is a madam. Don’t worry, you will get there soon.

  4. Jaycee (E.A) says:

    Lol. What a wonderful platform to teach from– the Armchair.

  5. My mother did the physical and the armchair type lessons. One day, during an armchair sessions where I was running back and forht from armchair to kitchen, we realized that she had asked me to make two soups and I was making just one (yeah, disaster). Needless to say, I did not hear the last of that one….

  6. Apologies for the typos!

  7. Myne Whitman says:

    Just read the previous post and this one, and I’m still laughing. You drew out the funny parts of your narrative excellently. My mom is more hands-on and will be looking over your shoulder as she dished the instructions. LOL…

Comments welcome :)

