Bessie Bunter

A dear friend has filled in for me this week, here she is in her own words, enjoy.

This was one of my nick names when I was growing up.  I was a chubby kid; though when I look at my old photos, I do not understand how anyone could imagine that I was a big kid.  Nevertheless, I was considered chubby and I accepted it. 

I accepted the nicknames too and there were many of them, ‘Toky fat’, ‘Sacculus Rotundus’ (I have no idea about the origins of this nickname but because it contains rotundus or round it was fine to refer to this chubby kid as such), ‘Bessie bunter’ (a chubby comic book character), ‘Ora’ (which in my language, Yoruba, simply translates – FAT!) 

I am much older and, yep, you guessed it, I am still…ho hum…fat.  No, not full figured, voluptuous or any other politically correct spin we want to put on it; I am simply fat.  I am however, grateful that I am not emotionally scarred by the childhood nicknames or negative media.  I am also grateful that I am very healthy and physically not unfit. 

Regardless of what anybody says, to a great extent, I am very comfortable in my own skin.  Ok, I admit.  Sometimes I maybe out shopping or in a restaurant etc and someone would walk past in a pair of skinny jeans and for a flitting moment (usually, as I am consuming a big mac) I imagine it could be me in the skinny jeans but that’s all it is – FLITTING – because I soon snap out of it.  My milkshake is at stake (rhyme genuinely unintended)

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bessie Bunter

  1. Jaycee says:

    Lol @ “My milkshake is at stake.” That’s just a hilarious statement.

  2. Naijamum says:

    LOLLL
    That was also my nickname because I was not only chubby, I also had really chubbier legs.
    Well, I’m glad to say that my body has filled out nicely to compliment the legs…LOL
    I accept that I will NEVER be skinny and the good thing is that people always tell me that my face doesnt seem to age…..I guess all the fat pads out the wrinkles …LOL

  3. Ibhade says:

    had the same experience as a kid, that it does not hurt now when people call me names….i simply laugh it off. i am very comfortable with my body shape.

  4. Vera Ezimora says:

    LOL. I had the same experience, too. I was ‘Fat & Fresh’ … and I’m still fat and fresh. *snickering*

Comments welcome :)

