The bell tolls for Japan

We have all watched in appalled fascination as pictures of the devastation in Japan has filled our screens. Some of us have expressed sympathy for Japan, others have gone a step further and have prayed for the people experiencing such unimaginable suffering. Some are still praying, even now, that the threat of a nuclear meltdown will pass, that by some miracle, the relentless tide of doom will be averted, and those that have survived thus far, will yet live with hope for tomorrow.

I am making an appeal to you, the readers of my blog, to please help. The most important thing you can do is pray, that God will have mercy, and that doesn’t cost a penny, just a few minutes of your time whenever you remember that there are people huddled under blankets, wet and miserable.

The other important thing you can do, in addition to or instead of prayer, is donate money towards the alleviation of the misery of the Japanese.

For you my church-attending, Bible-believing Christian readers, it is all very well and good to give offerings and tithes in church, to give generously towards church planting, or whatever ministry is flavour of the month, but I am asking you today to please give something, anything, to help the victims of this earthquake, this tsunami.

There are many ways in which you can do this, below are a few sites where you can make online donations.

http://www.justgiving.com/ocado

http://www.facebook.com/keinishikori?sk=app_141243682567063

http://www.globalgiving.co.uk/pr/6500/proj6443a.html?gclid=CIHJxdn-16cCFUdP4QodFngV-A

You will not receive the acclaim of men, there is no applause like when you dance to the altar waving your envelope, but the good Lord God who sees in secret will reward you openly.

And to you my readers who are followers of Allah, what greater alms can you give than to those in dire need?

To followers of other faiths, and indeed to those who have no faith at all in the divine, please give, because by so doing, you will be helping your own kind, other human beings, just like you.

My heart aches for Japan, because I know that could have been me, roaming through the devastation that was once where I lived, searching for my parent, for my child, with tears running down my face. My heart aches even more, because I know that some will read this, will sigh, and move on to the next blog.

Please give. I have.

Some of you do not have access to online banking, or do not have credit cards. Take the extra step, pop into a bank, and make a cash donation, no matter the country in which you live.

May God show you mercy in your time of need.

 

Thanks for stopping by.

 

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The bell tolls for Japan

  1. Jaycee (E.A) says:

    Thanks for posting this, JJ. You have a compassionate heart. May as many who read give in one form or the other.

  2. Vera Ezimora says:

    I have been thinking about them. Honestly, I have not given my money, but I have prayed for them. The other person that has me so worried is Tata, the Nigerian babysitter who is accused of killing four children. I don’t know why, but I’ve been thinking about her a lot. I pray everything goes as well as it can.

    • Joxy says:

      Prayers are good, very good in fact :). As for Jessica Tata, as a mother, I cannot begin to understand why she did what she did. My heart goes out to all the affected families.

      • Jaycee (E.A) says:

        She made a grave mistake by going shopping and leaving babies (who are not hers) alone in her home. I bet she didn’t expect anything bad to happen. Sadly, she made a grave mistake…an unintentional one that cost her her own life. May we never be faced with any type of predicament such as this.

        • Joxy says:

          Jaycee, she was in a position of trust. I don’t know the exact ages of the children in her care, but reports say they were babies and preschoolers. I can’t imagine leaving my four year old and my 21 month old alone at home together, talk less of children that aren’t mine. She left a pan of oil on the burner to boot, goes way beyond a mistake in my book….and a big amen to that prayer IJN.

Comments welcome :)

