Born to die

I lie in suspended animation, waiting for the call. I am in limbo, static, a sleeper, inactive. My life span is limited, I have always known that, yet this does not deter me from my desire, the burning wish to accomplish something greater than who I am.

And then one day, it happens. I watch from afar as I am hoisted up into the air. I am anonymous, one of very many, yet I watch with bated breath as I anticipate what is about to happen. There are others around me, and I sense the repressed excitement flowing through them too.

I stare at the transparent bags near me, they contain clear liquids, and I glance away impatiently, waiting for what will be.

It seems to take forever, but then I feel myself being drawn through a narrow exit, and I travel along at a sedate pace. My resolve is firm, I know what it is that I must do, and I look forward to arriving at my destination.

I become aware of a rhythmic beat, a tribal pounding that seems a bit laboured, as though the drummer is struggling to cope under a great strain. And then I am there. Caught up in a stream, and rushing along, bearing my precious cargo. I go past stricken comrades, they are stiff and immobile. They try to move, to join the stream, but they are covered in a sticky substance, and end up being clogged up, clumped together. I am flexible. almost elastic, and can easily alter my form to get through even the narrowest openings.

At the right moment, I lay down my life-giving shipment, and then race away to a new destination, this time bearing a different load. And so it goes on, a never-ending cycle. The rhythm of the beat gradually gets into sync, the pressure is eased.

I know my life span is limited. 120 days. But while I am here, I will do good, and be a bearer of life, of oxygen.

I am a red blood cell.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Born to die

  1. For You did form my inward parts; You did knit me together in my mother’s womb.I will confess and praise You for You are fearful and wonderful and for the awful wonder of my birth! Wonderful are Your works, and that my inner self knows right well.
    My frame was not hidden from You when I was being formed in secret [and] intricately and curiously wrought [as if embroidered with various colors] in the depths of the earth [a region of darkness and mystery].
    Your eyes saw my unformed substance, and in Your book all the days [of my life] were written before ever they took shape, when as yet there was none of them.
    How precious and weighty also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How vast is the sum of them! Psalm 139:13 – 17 (sums it all up succinctly)

  2. Vera Ezimora says:

    You better be a red blood cell! I was thinking to myself, what is doing Joxy now? Me, I shall not die but live to declare the goodness of the Lord, ehen. LOL. Lai, lai. At some point, I actually thought you were talking about rapture.

    Nicely written πŸ™‚

    I wanna be a white blood cell. They fight bad guys.

  3. myne Whitman says:

    I was trying to figure out who the narrator was, lol. A baby, a sperm cell, an ovum, and finally a red blood cell. Well done!

  4. myne Whitman says:

    And thanks again for featuring on my blog.

  5. Ibhade says:

    When i first saw the heading, i said to myself; WHO IS DYING?…after reading with abated breathe, i went wosh!…what a ‘narration!’…you kept me spell bound!

    Indeed, we all shall leave this earth one day at a time, but it’s our ‘legacy’ that would keep us ‘alive’ in the people’s heart…weldone sis.:)

    • Joxy says:

      Hi Ibhade, if I can keep my readers guessing, then it’s mission accomplished πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by, and for liking.

  6. JenniferAbayowa says:

    Awwww, Red blood cell. I wasn’t expecting that, until after a few paragraphs. Beautiful πŸ™‚

  7. Amina says:

    Wow! Red blood cell, who wold have thunkit.
    Well written.

  8. N says:

    Well, what can I say? Either anticipation heightened my senses or I am a good student of yours, I started to read and the movie ‘Inner Space’ came to mind……..very good!

Comments welcome :)

