WhatsApp

Hey folks. How has 2011 been for you so far?

The other day I was thinking about doing a search to see if there was an Android messenger out there, but a cry of ‘Mama’ rent the air and  I instantly forgot all about it. I love my Hero, just felt a messaging application would be the icing on a pretty tasty cake.

A few days later,  a friend of mine posted something about WhatsApp on FB, and I moseyed on over there to see for myself what it was all about.

In a nutshell, it is a messaging application that works on phones across different platforms. To date, anyone who has an Android, Symbian, Nokia, iPhone or Blackberry mobile device can install it, and chat with their contacts (seamless integration) using their data package plans or wireless connections.  Neat idea no? And it works.

In addition to messaging, WhatsApp users can send each other unlimited images, video, and audio media messages.

At the moment, the iPad and Windows 7 devices are not supported, but good things come to those who wait I suppose.

It’s available for free on the Android market for a year, after which there is an annual fee of $1.99. I hear it costs 59p in the Apps store, don’t know about the others.

T hardly ever reads his text messages. I’ve installed Whatsapp on his phone now, so when I fancy telling him something that is not quite important enough for me to call him at work, I can IM him. Messages like ‘Please remember to print off Egirl’s permission slip’ or ‘my hairdressing appointment’s at 3.45’. He doesn’t reply, but he’ll mention it in his next call home, so I’m a happy bunny. No more Blackberry envy.

I was going to add a few more things, but I guess I’ll leave this as is. My first ever product review, sort of. Only thing left is to send a message to T saying, ‘Blog updated’.

Thanks for stopping by.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in random and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to WhatsApp

  1. Your first ever review is so good I feel like getting the app, but I still use my neat At&t Samsung phone. 🙂

  2. Ibhade says:

    Happy new year……tnxx 4 stopping by…..am now following you..shalom.

  3. Vera Ezimora says:

    I don’t care what you say! Blackberry is still to be envied. Okay, tell me this, can you send voice notes? Music? Files? No? Mm hmmm.

    *Sashays off Joxy’s blog, a lit blunt in mouth, feeling accomplished*

    • Joxy says:

      Ehm, the answer to all those questions is yes, and I have edited my post to reflect this. Add that to your blunt. Not that I am encouraging your use of drugs 😀

  4. KLZ says:

    Heh. anything that gets my husband to pay attention to to-do’s is alright by me.

  5. Vera Ezimora says:

    Love the new template!! Now, do you think you want to update? It’s been 10 days since your last post. 😛

Comments welcome :)

