A tale of two olives

I love olives. Green olives. I don’t mind black ones, but I prefer the green. They have more bite, more oomph to them. I prefer Greek olives. Spanish ones are okay-ish, but most of the ones I come across are Manzanilla, and they tend to have a bitter kind of taste to them, or maybe that’s just me.

Anyhoo, I get my olives from Aldi. They come in a little jar, cost only 39p, and are excellent for jazzing up salads or just for snacking on. They also come in handy when I want to ensure my kids get at least one of their five-a-day.

 

The usual

 

 

Imagine my excitement the other day, when I got the flyer from Lidl, announcing their special offers. I gazed at the jar of olives at £3.99, and fell in love. At first sight. I kid you not. I don’t like going grocery shopping on my own, i.e without T.So I hardly ever do. But Lidl does not offer online shopping. Not yet. Bad Lidl!. So there I was staring at the vision of loveliness before my eyes, and I knew I absolutely had to get it. So I strapped Ebaby into the car, ( her sisters were at school) and I headed straight there. I could hardly dare breathe until I had gone through the checkout, and the olives were legally mine. Sigh.

The not-so-usual

 

 

These olives are huge. Each one looks like a plum. And they are Greek. I haven’t tasted them yet, haven’t even opened the jar. Just knowing they are there, nestled in my kitchen cupboard between the lesser jars of olives gives me a warm glow, even as I type this. I think I’ll have them on Christmas day. I’ll cook up a storm for my family, and make sure they eat it too. And then when everyone is so full they can barely move, I’ll bring out my giant jar, and proceed to eat as many of these olives as I can. All by myself.

Thanks for stopping by Smile

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A tale of two olives

  1. Nkem Ivara says:

    I can’t stand green olives but maybe that’s because all the ones I’ve ever eaten have been a bit bitter. Black olives? Now you’re talking. Those are ‘delish’.

    I’m glad you got your large jar of giant plum-sized olives. I would taste them first just so you know exactly what to expect when you have your after-Christmas-dinner-all-out-olive binge ;o)

  2. lucidlilith says:

    He he he…the only olives I am interested in are the ones in my Martini. If – I were a martini drinker..lol.

    I often think olives are just decorative. They kinda look pretty. I have never cooked with them before.

  3. myne Whitman says:

    I like black olives, the green ones I’ve never tried. I’ll also say, try them now. Don’t be disappointed on Christmas day, lol…

    • Joxy says:

      Hmm, I’m very suspicious of this advice o. I should try them now? And finish them before the day? I’ll take my chances. They are green, and Greek. That settles it for me 🙂

  4. anoda phase says:

    lol…can’t believe you are talking with so much passion about olives…I don’t like them myself – too bitter.

    I agree with others – taste them now to avoid disappointment on Christmas day.

    • Joxy says:

      They can be a bit of an acquired taste I guess. T used to hate them, now he quite likes ’em…. Taste them now? Nah! 🙂

Comments welcome :)

