Apologies

Ages ago, when I wrote about my hip replacement, I typed it in Microsoft Word using this very same font, copied and pasted it into WordPress, and it appeared just like this.

The next time I tried to do the same thing, it didn’t work, and there didn’t seem to be any font options on WordPress, so I did a search and discovered something called Typekit Fonts. I installed it, and the idea was that I could get creative with my fonts, but I never could figure out how to get it to work. So today, I searched again, and discovered Windows Live Writer.

In trying to figure it out, I accidentally published a couple of dud posts. Which is why I’m saying sorry. I know some blogrolls had the dud posts show up, and you my faithful readers clicked through hoping to read something new, and there was zilch.

So even though this is not a planned post as such, I thought I’d share some random information.

When my girls bicker, it’s usually along the lines of ‘She’s looking at me.’ My response depends on my mood, and ranges from ‘Don’t look at her!’ to  ‘How did you see her if you weren’t looking at her too?. Sometimes it is a short and sharp ‘Be quiet!!!’

Toks taught me how to cook the perfect hard boiled egg. I’ve tried it, and it works. Put the egg/s in a pan of cold water, and bring to the boil. Turn off the heat immediately the water starts boiling, and leave pan on the hob for 10 minutes exactly. Put egg/s in cold water, then peel. Voila, perfection.

Nkem turned forty last week. For those of you who think marriage is where romance ends, you absolutely must read her account of it here.

I use make up very sparingly. I had been saving up my empty MAC containers for years as I wanted to get a free lipstick. Last week, Egirl dropped my compact , and my pressed powder shattered into tiny little pieces. I wasn’t pleased as there was still a lot of mileage in it. Anyhow, I cheered myself up with the knowledge that I had enough empty cases to claim my lipstick. Went to the MAC counter on Sunday, bought a new compact, and handed over my six empties. A different salesperson came back and asked where I’d bought them from. ‘Ehm, all over’ was my reply. ‘Why?’ I asked. ‘They’re fakes’ she replied. I started spluttering. ‘That is impossible. I bought them from Selfridges, House of Fraser, and Macys. There is no way they are fake.’ Long and short, there is supposed to be a microchip under the labels and she couldn’t feel them. How could I tell her that some of the empties were over 10 years old? Some people collect antiques (or friends on Facebook) and I save MAC empties. Anyhow, she gave me my free lipstick, and took my email address to let me know the outcome of their investigation.

I discovered recently that I have lost 6kg (12lbs approx) I don’t know how that happened, it wasn’t entirely through conscious effort, but my eating habits aren’t great at the best of times. A few times in the past couple of weeks, I didn’t eat my first meal till around 4/5pm. I guess part of it is because I am now fully independent of Ebaby, she drinks cow milk from a beaker, so I no longer eat with her in mind. And sometimes I just don’t eat.

A friend has roped me into detoxing for three days, starting tomorrow. No sugar, no processed foods, smaller portions, no juices. The only hardship I envision is having to drink plain water. I almost never ever drink plain water. It has to be flavoured with a squash or the other. At the last count I had nine different flavours sitting on the kitchen worktop, none of them low or reduced sugar. Impossible is nothing though, I am resolved to get through this, and hopefully shed some more weight along the way.

I also bought a DVD called ‘10 minute solution to blast off belly fat’ or so. I bought it about four weeks ago, but finally cracked it open for the first time yesterday. T laughed out loud at my exclamations while watching it. They included ‘alakoba’ and ‘eni ti won fe pa ni won wa’ as I was convinced there was no way I could get through any of them. But today, with Egirl beside me for moral support, I got through about 5 minutes of exercise. Yes, my movements were not as fluid as that of the instructor, but it’s a start.

So I hope this makes up for the dud post(s), and thanks as always for stopping by.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Meet me and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Apologies

  1. I swear I’ll be needing glasses having squinted through reading this post! It’s minuscule!

    Thanks for the mention. I have never had so many comments on any post. I might have found my niche.

    Good luck with the detox, let me know how it goes

    • Joxy says:

      Thanks for squinting through my dear. The font wasn’t that small o, till I published it. Me self I was rubbing my eyes. If ever a post was comment worthy, it was that fabulous one of yours 🙂 Not looking forward to the detox at all, will faithfully report back.

  2. Myne Whitman says:

    OMG, my eyes, lol…but I read it all.

    Wish I could lose 12 pounds like that. When I exercise I add weight, imagine? I have a master cleanse drink in my fridge but haven’t opened it. I’m scared cos I’ll have to cut out so many things. I’ll yet get to it one of these days.

    Well done you on starting the routine. Now let me run off to Nkem’s…

    • Joxy says:

      Thanks for persevering through Myne, totally unintentional on my part. I’m probably exhibiting sugar withdrawal symptoms already, and I haven’t even started the detox yet! Master cleanse sounds like another level entirely, who knows, maybe one day…..

  3. Joxy says:

    Yay! I’ve sorted the font out.

  4. LOL @ you keeping MAC containers for over 10 years! And I thought I was a hoarder 🙂

    All the best with blasting the belly fat! I have a Pilates DVD that I need to get back in touch with…

  5. anoda phase says:

    lol @ the fake mac…but that’s scary, considering the places you bought them from…such supposedly big names, and still no product security/guarantee?

    You lost 12 pounds just like that? I don’t eat early either…I wish I could lose weight like magic.

    All the best with the detox…it’s definitely worth cleansing your system @ least 2ce a year…

    • Joxy says:

      I don’t think they were fake to be honest, my take on it is that this chipping thing is relatively new, because what are the odds of six different empties purchased over years and miles apart all being fake? I got my lipstick, otherwise there’d have been a whole blog rant devoted to MAC. As per the weight, I think chasing after three young children including a very active baby is probably some exercise in itself…plus the irregular eating…Day 1 of the detox, and I won’t be going down this road again in a hurry. I can’t even chew my favourite gum? My mouth feels deprived. Thanks for stopping by Doyin, enjoy the rest of the week 🙂

  6. She’s looking at me! Where did they learn that they are supposed to get upset about that? Random facts but interesting as always

Comments welcome :)

