Finding my niche

So what’s my niche? I honestly don’t know.

I write about this, that, and the other. Most of the things I write about are factual, but I like to exercise my creative side sometimes, so I also write fiction, and as I term it, triction (fictionalised truth). I write about my family, and about retailers. I usually write about retailers only when I’m cheesed off with them. TH stopped accepting UK credit cards, can you beat that? I’ll do a post  on John Lewis soon. They absolutely rock, and are the best retailers by a clear mile.

I write about current affairs sometimes, although by the time I have mulled it over and gotten round to writing, the affairs are no longer that current. I write about my family, mainly my children, as I find them extremely fascinating. I write about my faith, most times obliquely. I write about my friends. Oh, and I write about cooking, past, present and future.

I love to read. The Bible, crime thrillers,mysteries, fiction generally sha, cookbooks and other blogs. Some blogs crack me up, some inspire me, and some are just so deep I don’t get them. I try to leave comments as often as I can, and only when I have something meaningful to say. Comments are a way of letting the writers know they should keep putting pen to paper because I like reading what they’ve written (hint, hint). I watch TV programmes, but not on telly. I loved The Unit, and 24. Shame both shows have ended their runs. I hear The Unit got too expensive to produce. Might it have been because of all the ammunition expended in each episode? War costs lives. Real lives. I like legal shenanigans; Boston Legal, Damages, Raising the Bar, The Good Wife, Outlaw…anything that involves courtroom drama, I’ll watch. I acquire them from across the pond. Dark Blue, Burn Notice, Glee, Gossip Girl, Glee, Army Wives, The Closer… okay, I’m stopping here. Don’t want to give the impression I watch too much telly. Technically I don’t though, because I watch it on my laptop. So there.

I like shopping. Online shopping that is. The thought of pushing the buggy round a supermarket is just not it. I do my grocery shopping online, or T does it in the store, or we do it together as a family. The last time I tried on clothes in a store was well over a year ago, I needed a few maternity tops. Since then, all clothes shopping has been via the worldwideweb.

So back to my niche. What is it? I honestly don’t know. But I guess you now know a little more about me than you did. Thanks for stopping by.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Finding my niche

  1. Dolapo says:

    Nice piece Joxy; but grocery shopping online? So they deliver milk, bread and stuff like that to ur house?

  2. Yes, we now know a little more about you 🙂

  3. Does one really need to have a niche?
    Can’t one just write as the fancy takes
    Or as the mood dictates?
    Would that mean your art would be kitsch?

    What if one’s muse would not be labeled
    As one genre or another?
    For this could well smother
    What otherwise would be enabled.

    Sometimes one’s in a dither
    At not having discovered said niche
    One wishes for perfect pitch
    As the words come hither.

    You can tell I’ve got time
    For writing this silly ditty
    I was just trying to be witty
    That’s why it’s written in rhyme
    :o)

    • Joxy says:

      Oh for the ability to rhyme, at the drop of a dime
      Oh to be able to disregard labels
      And write as one feels able
      Grey cells churning
      And into words turning
      All thoughts of niche spurning.

      And I give up, lol. Me self I try abi? 🙂

Comments welcome :)

