Feeding the hungry

Heads

It was a cold, grey and dreary day. She peered at the rain through the window, wondering when it would ease up enough for her to venture outdoors. She did not like the rain, she hated getting wet. As if to taunt her, it kept falling, relentlessly. It was almost as though the drops were in a race to see which one could hit the ground faster, and there were a million contestants. Her children were hungry, the last meal they’d eaten had been hours ago, and their father had left them. It was up to her alone to ensure that they had full bellies. She could not remember the last time she had seen her wallet, in any case she doubted there was any money in it. She needed to leave them all alone in the house if there was to be any chance of feeding them. The car wasn’t parked in its usual spot, but she could not spare the time to decipher what that meant. She was going to have to walk all the way to get the food they needed.

‘Mama, when are we going to eat?’ a little voice piped up.

She made her mind up. Rain or no rain, her children needed to eat. She was going to do whatever it took to get them fed. With an admonition to them to behave themselves whilst she was gone, she opened the door, and stepped outside.

Tails

The other day I was in the kitchen staring out at the rain as my children made up their minds as to what they wanted for breakfast.  I’d been hoping they would opt for cereal, as that was the easiest option for me. Cold milk straight from the fridge, box of cereal, bowls, spoons, job done. Typically though, Egirl wanted toast, Etoddler  wanted waffles, and Ebaby just wanted me. Only problem though, was that it was raining, and both the waffles and the bread were in the chest freezer, in the garage. The garage is about ten steps away from the main house, you can see it through the kitchen window. The children had not been at risk from being left alone at any time. T had gone to work as usual, only difference was he’d taken my car instead of  cycling. I did not need any money, just thought I’d throw that in to spice things up. As I opened the door, I suddenly fancied adding some drama to what was a straightforward process.

How did I do?

Thanks for stopping by 😀

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Feeding the hungry

  1. A great piece of fiction drawn from a real-life experience, albeit with a twist.

    I think you should develop it further.

  2. ClaireP says:

    I love reading your blogs – you really are so talented, as I have said before when is the book coming out? xxx

  3. All hail the queen of twist! The mac gave you away, love the fresh new look. Great write up as always!

Comments welcome :)

