Some authors

They write because they believe they have a message the world needs to hear. Or perhaps because everyone in their field is publishing books and they do not want to be left out. For others, it is a competition, they write a book a year, maybe two. I have nothing against the proliferation of books by their authors, but would it detract from the message in any way if a spell checker is used?

We all have different talents, and a great orator does not necessarily make a great writer. Some are aware of this, and employ the services of proof readers and editors to ensure that their message is disseminated in a way that does not assault the eyes of their readers. Others believe however, that the anointing upon their message is so great that it will break the yoke of every grammatical error contained therein.

Who will bell the cat? Or who dare tell the emperor that he is strutting around in his birthday suit? We live in such a time of sycophancy that even those who should know better are loath to point out the glaring inaccuracies in such texts. Members of the inner circle bow and scrape along behind the writers, and would think nothing of ostracizing anyone who dares suggest that something is amiss.

And why is there such an insistence to buy this book or that?

15 steps to climbing Mount Zion

21 methods of  dry fasting

Unlocking the key to Heaven’s gate

I plucked these titles out of the air, I sincerely hope that they are not in existence somewhere.

‘You must buy this book’ or ‘You can’t afford to be without this book’ is all one seems to hear. What about The Book? The one from which these other books supposedly sprung? Why isn’t there an emphasis on going directly  to the source, and finding out what He wrote?

I don’t know why I’m writing about this now. Can it be because of those writers who have reluctantly acceded to the need for editors yet are loath to pay market rates for the services received? Or those who claim they need a proofreader yet what they really need is a ghost-writer who will make sense of their  rambling thoughts and make it intelligible for future readers without even being acknowledged in the footnotes?

No, I am not writing from personal experience, but yes this is a pet peeve of mine.

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Some authors

  1. Jaycee says:

    You’ve just written about a pet peeve of mine as well. Nevertheless, I’ve come to realize that some of those books that seem like they should not be published (books of such as “15 Steps to Speedily Answered Prayers”) might just be the very thing someone in a corner of the world needs.

    More than getting angry when I see spelling/grammatical errors, I get really sad that the authors may not have meant to publish their book in such a way, but due to lack of patience they published. I wouldn’t think they’d be sitting down somewhere gloating, I’d think they would be sad too.

    “Others believe however, that the anointing upon their message is so great that it will break the yoke of every grammatical error contained therein.” This line made me laugh.

    In summary, I think that every writer needs to be conscious of the errors in their book before publishing. Or else…there goes one reputation.

  2. Myne Whitman says:

    This post made me laugh, but I picked some messages too. I have a few typos in A Heart to Mend which some have pointed out. I take responsibility for all, certainly don’t blame the proofreaders or editors.

    • justjoxy says:

      Myne, I can only hope that when my time comes to publish, I’ll do better than those I’m critiquing, lol.

  3. Hi dear, you know how I feel about this matter. I have to deal with some sub-standard work sometimes and when I dare to suggest improvements to some authors, they huff and puff and insist they will not change anything.
    However I usually rein in my righteous indignation by telling myself “at least they’ve put pen to paper and produced a whole manuscript, if you think you can do better, then write yours too!” That almost sends me to the larder looking for a piece of that humble pie I reserve for occasions like that.

    Thanks for so eloquently expressing my sentiment and like you said to Myne, let’s pray we can do better when our time comes.

    • justjoxy says:

      To be honest, I had you in mind as I was writing, I remembered the publications you’d worked on and the stress you underwent :). Indeed, may we do better, our time is now.

Comments welcome :)

