Picture this

I got an email today from Jebel Ali International Hotels  promoting an all-inclusive deal in Dubai this summer. I pored over each word as I read through the details, and then I sighed as I realised this was one offer I had to decline, at least for now. I gazed at the pictured couple holding their drinks as they stared into the distance, and for a moment, I was there in Dubai with them.

And then I turned my thoughts homeward, to rabbit. Sometime last year, I’d seen Jamie Oliver cooking rabbit on telly. Now I have eaten rabbit before, but it had always been cooked in stew, by my dad. Jamie however, coated and deep-fried his rabbit, and it looked finger-licking good. I googled to see where my nearest butcher was, went to his website, and to my utter amazement, there they were again.

The couple I had admired on the Jebel Ali website were now here in my town, this time promoting a butcher’s! To be fair, they were not on the home page, but were on the ‘About us’ page, and the caption underneath their picture read ‘Exotic food’.

This then, is their story.

They had gone on an all-inclusive holiday to Dubai, had stayed at the afore-mentioned hotel, and had enjoyed themselves tremendously. So much so, that the manager had asked the hotel photographer to take a sneaky photograph of them, with the intention of using it in future publicity, albeit without their consent. However, unbeknownst to the couple, they had maxed out their credit card, and their payment for the hotel stay had not been honoured. In lieu of payment, they signed away all rights to the photograph, and were given a copy of it as a memento of their stay. All their possessions except their tickets and passports were also retained to go towards offsetting the monies owed.

They got back home, were walking past the butcher’s, and saw the sign ‘Exotic Meats’. Glancing at the picture she clutched in her hand, she noticed some meat on the plate. They entered the shop, struck a deal, and the rest was history. Or at least it was history till my eagle eyes recognised their picture. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.

Here is the picture.

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

p.s Justjoxy’s blog is on Facebook, see you there?



About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Picture this

  1. Jaycee says:

    Lol. Your story sounds so believable. Yeah, I’m sticking with it too. Lol.

    The picture makes me want to grab hubby’s arm and pull him with me on a trip to Dubai. Oh well, there is time for everything…he he.

    • justjoxy says:

      Jaycee, I feel you. The time will come, real soon I hope, for you, and for me. As for the story, thanks for having my back 🙂

  2. lucidlilith says:

    Joxy!!! You have never heard of stock photos? Dem plenty everywhere. I once saw a pregnant woman on the brochure of a maternity unit for a hospital. The samw woman was promoting maternity wear on a website. Go figure. I guess she need a second job.

    • justjoxy says:

      LL, I know, it was just the fact that the same picture popped up in two disparate settings that piqued my imagination 🙂 I kinda adapted the saying to read ‘A picture is worth a couple of paragraphs’, lol.

  3. Hmm! I’m not buying what you are selling.

    It smells as fishy as some of the fish they are not selling at ‘Exotic Meats’. ;0)

Comments welcome :)

