Ant farm

I bought Egirl an ant farm today. The whole concept of it is that she’ll be able to watch the ants go about their daily business of living. As I picked up the box in the store, I noticed a woman had been staring at me.

‘I thought the whole point was to keep them out of the house?’ she asked, referring to the ants.

‘I totally agree’ I said. ‘Only thing is, I’ve committed myself already, I promised her I’ll get her one’

We smiled at each other, and I headed out clutching the ant farm and a couple of packets of chocolate chunk cookies. The cookies are seriously moreish. The chunks deserve that name. I try not to eat a whole packet at a go. I stop at six, I think there are eight in a pack.

Enough said.

When we got home, I told Egirl I had done my part by getting her the ant farm. The finding of ants to occupy it was up to her dad, so was the task of constructing it. I don’t mind ants one way or the other, in fact I’m glad that was what she had asked for. There had also been a worm farm in the store, I can’t even begin to imagine what I’d have said if she’d asked for that. I’d have probably said yes, but would have refused to have it in the house. She’d have had to keep them in the garage or somewhere in the garden, which kind of defeats the whole purpose.

I’m glad I was able to buy it for her. I remember staring at ants in the sand years ago when I was her age, watching them as they trudged back and forth bearing their food home. I found their colonies absolutely fascinating, and often wondered about their lives. Solomon thought they were worthy of mention too, he referred to them as being exceedingly wise in the book of Proverbs.

So yes, I bought it for her, and somewhere deep down, I suppose I bought it for me too.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments welcome :)

