Mid-May

It’s a been an exciting month so far, maybe that’s why I haven’t been on here?

Egirl is sprouting like a beanstalk. She’s barely 6 and a half, but she looks like she’ll be catching up to me way too soon. I tease her that when I’m scolding her in the future, she’ll have to sit down so I don’t have to stare up at her. She laughs, I laugh.

Etoddler is now at nursery. She goes three days a week, and absolutely loves it.

I can’t believe Ebaby’s going to be one next month. It seems like it was only yesterday that I was staring at her in my arms and marvelling that she was here at last. I am thankful to God for her and her sisters, they make it so worthwhile.

You might have gathered from one or more of my previous posts that I enjoy cooking. One of my favourite meals is asaro (yam pottage). I made some over the weekend, and took pictures too.

Here’s the first picture.I put deboned panla (stockfish) in it, as well as some smoked skinned white fish fillets. When it was cooked, I asked T if he wanted spinach in it, he said yes, so I put in some cubes of frozen chopped spinach. You can just about see the hints of green. After I put the spinach in, I then mashed the yam.

I wanted to add some plantain just before it was fully cooked, but I didn’t, because Egirl’s not keen on plantain. Come to think of it, she doesn’t like yam either, but she did eat a bit of this. T’s rating? 9.5. Yay!

There’s a picture tutorial on how to cook asaro here. I varied my recipe slightly. Vera gave me a recipe for okra stew, I took pictures of that too, maybe that’ll be my next post.

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mid-May

  1. Mm! Yummy! Any leftovers you could freeze for a dear friend?

    Salivatingly yours xx

  2. By the way, I was just writing my latest blog post in my head when yours came through. So yours is helping make the transition from my head to blog space. Thanks

  3. Jaycee says:

    Alright, now I’m hungry for Asaro.

    Awww, glad you’re finding such joy in hubby and your girls…

  4. Myne Whitman says:

    Too bad I can’t see the pics, I like Asaro too. I love your cute girls, I wonder what is in the water here, all the children I know grow so quickly. Take care of you all.

    • justjoxy says:

      Aw, it’s a shame you can’t see the pics, wonder why that is? It must be something in the water for sure, lol. Thanks for the compliment 🙂

Comments welcome :)

