Pot roast beef

The other day, I mentioned Levi Roots, and his pot roast beef. I was able to make it over Easter, but am only writing about it now for a number of reasons.

1. I was unwell during the prepping and the making of it, and for quite a while after. Writing about anything, including food, was the last thing on my mind.

2. When I did want to write about it, T held me to ransom. Literally. He had taken the picture using his mobile phone, and he refused to email it to me. Okay, he did not refuse per se, he just took his sweet time doing it.

3. I could have taken his phone and retrieved the picture at any time, but I didn’t know how to. I did hide both his phones the other day in a bid to expedite things, but that’s another post in itself.

4. I wasn’t sure how to put the picture in this post when I did get it.

So there are my reasons.

The beef did not turn out as tender as I’d have liked, but T and Egirl loved it. T gave it a rating of 8.5 out of 10. My taste buds were shot at the time, so I think I did a pretty good job. It’s my first time ever of posting a picture, so I’ll stop here just so I can savour my accomplishment.

Edit! I did think about putting the recipe up, but I felt too lazy to do so. A certain commentator has rubbed this omission in my face, so here’s a link. I have to point out that I used silverside beef instead of topside, maybe that’s why it wasn’t as tender? This blogger also wrote about this dish in far more detail than I have, so enjoy!

Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pot roast beef

  1. yummy! yummy!! looks good.

  2. Vera Ezimora says:

    I want to eat! If I weren’t low on cash right now, I’d be busy experimenting with food, too. I’d love to try different kinds of food.

    • justjoxy says:

      Start by stocking up on spices, they are relatively inexpensive.Then decide what you’d like to cook and get the ingredients. It may seem daunting at first, but a home cooked meal will cost just about the same or less than a take out. Try it. 🙂

  3. Jaycee says:

    Me too, I want to eat it right from my laptop. Lol.

  4. Myne Whitman says:

    Let me go check out the recipe, I’ve sometimes wondered the difference between pot roast and ordinary roast. This looks really good and I won’t mind giving it a try.

    • justjoxy says:

      Pot roast means slow cooking on the hob, at least that’s what I think. I’ll try it again, this time I’ll use the right cut of beef and see if it’ll make a difference. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  5. Lola says:

    You’ve got me thinking about “ikokore” now, Joxy. Do you have a recipe for that? Love the pics!

    • justjoxy says:

      Hi Sis, thanks for stopping by,and for loving :). Here’s a link to a recipe for ikokore, it’s got great pics too. Enjoy!

Comments welcome :)

