Things I’ve learnt (Part 1)

I wrote this during my staycation, hence the tenses. I’m home now, but didn’t fancy changing anything. Here goes.

Almost everything in life has a flip side, if you look for it.

We go on vacation at least once a year, when we can afford it. One of the things I look forward to apart from having T’s uninterrupted company throughout the day, is the fresh crisp sheets in the hotel.

There is a notice placed somewhere in the room, asking guests not to request new bed linen daily so as to save the environment. I completely ignore this request. Thing is, at home, I do not have the luxury of having freshly laundered bed linen every day. Some of you are quite fortunate, for you that’s just standard. Not so for me. So when I go on holiday, I insist on fresh bedding daily. I figure that since I spend most of the year saving the environment while I’m in my own house, when I’m in a hotel, it is only fair that I make full use of all the services offered.

I’ve had to be away from home for a few days, well, to be exact, for over a week and a half, and this sucks. Not so much because I’ve been unwell, but because of the knock on effect it has had on my family. T has been run ragged between working, visiting me, taking care of the children…etc.  My mum has been looking after the E-kids. I love my children to bits, but I’ll be the first to admit that they are work.

Since I’ve been here, I’ve been having night sweats. I don’t mean I’ve felt a bit hot whilst sleeping at night. I mean I have woken up from sleep absolutely drenched in sweat, soaking wet nightdress, pillowcase, sheets etc. The excellent staff are always at hand once I sound the buzzer, and they come round to strip my bed, and make it again, with crisp fresh sheets. This happens every night, usually twice, sometimes three times. I also get a fresh nightdress. So while this is in no way a vacation, it does have its perks. Best of all there’s no pesky notice bleating about the environment, it’s all about me.

So the lesson is this. All things work together for the good of them that love Him and are called according to His purpose.

In simple English, it means that for those of you who have faith, no matter what you are going through, God is working behind the scenes for your good. It might not be as apparent as in the scenario above, but trust me, He is.

Some people might moan about the fact that they were unwell, or had to be away from home, or had to wake up soaking wet at various points during the night. I choose to thank God for giving me a treat in the midst of all this. He is a good God.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Things I’ve learnt (Part 1)

  1. Jaycee says:

    I’m happy you’re looking at things so positively. Faith + hope + love = Joy (don’t mind my Math) 🙂

  2. Dolapo says:

    Justjoxy, interesting piece; however, I pray that the mighty hands of God will continually be upon u, He is God ur healer, u re healed and made whole IJN. You need to be able to go on a proper vacation with ur family and enjoy the hotel perks u were writing about. So shall it be IJN. Stay connected and blessed.

  3. My dear, I love your attitude. It really does make the difference in how two people view the same thing. In all things, give thanks, true words.

Comments welcome :)

