No place like home

It’s Saturday.

I’m sitting here, looking out of the window. It’s a bright sunny day. I don’t think it’s warm outside, but Egirl and her sisters don’t seem to mind. I can hear their screaming laughter as they play in the garden. Ebaby is on her grandma’s back, nice and snug under the ankara wrapper. I imagine her turning her head from side to side as she tries to keep track of her sisters’ antics.

T’s going out later, but for now, he’s in the garden too, with his girls.

I think about the volcanic ash hovering above, way up beyond the clouds, and wonder what impact it will have on our lives over the next few days.

T took a lovely picture of the beef pot roast I made over Easter. The only problem is, the picture is on his phone, and he hasn’t transferred it to my laptop yet. I have entreated, begged, and cajoled him to transfer it, he says he will, when he has time. I have threatened to sack him from his position as justjoxy’s official food photographer. His response? ‘Okay then.’  I fired him accordingly. I have now gone back to begging him, because I really want that picture. Next time I cook something I want to brag blog about, I will either take the picture myself, or see that he does it using the camera. Or maybe I’ll haul my super-duper new laptop to the kitchen and use the webcam, and then howl as the laptop slips through my grasp and ends up in the stew.

This time last week I was away, downing a cocktail. Of antibiotics. Now I’m down to one tablet. Very chunky tablet, but just the one.

It’s Saturday, and I am glad to be back at  home. Indeed I am thankful to the Almighty God whose mercies endure forever.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No place like home

  1. Jaycee says:

    Lol @ firing him. I hope that the volcanic ash doesn’t affect your family and others’ out there too. It’s a scary concept, really.

  2. justjoxy says:

    Jaycee, I’m still waiting patiently for the picture as we speak! This ash thing has disrupted travel plans greatly. My heart goes out to stranded passengers, especially those who were due to get married etc.

Comments welcome :)

