Enough already

I love Nigeria.

Yes, it has its problems, and some of its citizens have succeeded in giving the country a very bad name, but still I love Nigeria to bits. Which is why I’ve decided to add my voice to the countless others that are desperate to see a change.

A few days ago, a friend of mine mentioned a text she had received. The text said there was a plot by the Northerners (who grow most of the food consumed in Nigeria) to poison all the food being sent down to the South/West. This is the most absurd thing I have ever heard, and it was obviously started by people who want to foment civil unrest in Nigeria. I’m tempted to go off on a tangent and start espousing all sorts of conspiracy theories, but I refuse to get distracted.

The point is, these texts are spreading around like wildfire. Most people have the good sense to recognise them for what they are , and ignore them, but sadly there are some that take them as gospel truth, and are spreading them further.’ So what can I do?’  I hear you ask. I ask everyone who gets a text to please reply the sender, and inform them that it is untrue. Do not forward the texts to other people. Email your friends, spread the word. Let each of us try in our own small way to stem the tide of this incitement that is threatening to grow into a flood that will sweep away the fragile unity of our beloved country. It might seem like a small insignificant thing to do, but it will show that we did not just fold our hands and shrug our shoulders waiting for it all to go away.

Did you hear about Jos? Innocent villagers are being butchered in their beds. Their crime? They are Christians. Some people claim that this is the work of religious extremists, that may very well be the case. Where are the religious leaders in Nigeria? Why are these atrocities not being decried? Again, what can we do? We Nigerians understand the value of connections. Somebody knows somebody who knows somebody who can get the job done. Usually, these connections are used to secure contracts, enrich our pockets. Now I’m asking that we use them to stem the tide of intolerance. Speak to your connections, as them to use their influence to pressure the authorities to do something. Anything.

Our former national anthem was changed on the grounds that it had been penned by the imperialists and could therefore not articulate the ideals of our sovereign independent nation. However, there is a line that keeps running through my head ‘………Though tribe and tongue may differ, in brotherhood we stand’. What happened to all that?

A lot of people are disgruntled about the leadership (or lack of it) in Nigeria. To be honest, I was not fussed, it did not impact upon my life in any way, I was not affected. Now, I can’t help but wonder if this is why the great ship of our nation seems to be floundering, because there are no hands (or the wrong ones) at its helm. I know this might be extremely unpopular, but I find myself yearning for the days when martial law would have been imposed without having to wait for senators to glance up from studying the plans of their multi million dollar mansions and vote for change.

We can’t afford to do nothing. If you can, please tune in and listen to The State of the Nigerian Union on Saturday the 20th of March, air your views. Check out http://www.helpnigeria.blogspot.com/, see what you can do to help.

Arise O Compatriots.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Enough already

  1. thewordsmythe says:

    Word-of-mouth is the most prolific medium of communication in Nigeria and rumours spread faster than you can say your name (that is, if it’s as short as mine).

    I really pray that we will stop being so ignorant, as a people, and also more willing to check out the source of information before spreading it.

    Well done for adding your voice to the many crying out for change in Nigeria.

    • justjoxy says:

      Thanks dear friend. Amen o. I can’t help but suspect that some puppet masters are at play in this particular scenario, may God continue to help us.

  2. thewordsmythe says:

    By the way, I was thinking about blogging about Nigeria just a few minutes before I read your post, albeit from a different point of view.

    Great minds ehn!

  3. justjoxy says:

    Yes o, great minds indeed 🙂

  4. LucidLilith says:

    This is serious. But I think Nigerians are tired of civil unrest. Everyone just wants peace. The few evil perpetrators that are pushing buttons to get under people’s skin will not succeed. Amen.

  5. Hmmm. Thanks for that. I needed to read this as I’m at a point where I wish the Yorubas had joined up with the Ibos and the civil war was won against the Northerners. Of course that would not necessarily stave off the greedy senators. It all doesn’t make sense…

    • justjoxy says:

      Me? One Nigeria for life. Yes we were amalgamated in 1914 without rhyme or reason, but secession is definitely not the way forward IMHO. The Northerners farm, the Easterners have their oil, the Westerners build face me I face you on every inch of their land. Who will suffer?

Comments welcome :)

