Untitled

Ebaby doesn’t like water. Maybe she does like it, but just won’t drink it. I’ve tried to give her water a few times, I doubt if she has swallowed more than two tablespoons over the total period. The first time I tried, she was a little over six months old. When she finally figured out how to get the water from her sippy cup into her mouth, her whole body jerked as if she’d come into contact with electricity, she screwed up her face, and promptly spat it out.

I don’t remember either of her sisters being averse to drinking water when they were babies. On the other hand, I can’t remember when they started drinking water either, so maybe I’m starting her too early?

She started eating her solids a week or so before she turned six months old, and that went along swimmingly till I tried to introduce her to lumpier food. My daughter tasted it, clamped her lips tightly, then refused to eat anything for a couple of weeks, smooth, lumpy, it made no difference, she wasn’t interested. We have now established a truce of some sort, she will eat a mouthful or two, sometimes three. And then she will clamp her lips shut.

Today I will make her amala and iru flavored okra. Maybe she is just an authentic Naija baby that can’t be bothered with all this oyinbo flavours. And maybe her lack of interest is due to the fact that she is teething?

We’ll see.

For clarification, she is not dehydrated in any way, just prefers to use me as her sole source of liquid nourishment. Just thought I’d include that.

Thanks as always for stopping by.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Untitled

  1. Bimby says:

    lol.. i am soo feeling u. minibim had her moments like that too. I think its teething.. try teething powder first? lol.. or maybe she wants to feed herself?

    loving the E names by the way.XX ill be back to read some more.

    • justjoxy says:

      Bimby, I think she was teething. Writing this post seems to have done the trick, her appetite’s picked up. The gira and ogbono too must have helped, lol. Thanks re the names, and for stopping by 🙂

  2. Vera Ezimora says:

    LOL.

    It’s nice as you included the part about using you as her sole source of liquid nourishment. Oh, how I miss those days… not! Have you tried giving her Star or Gulder? I hear they work wonders!

    • justjoxy says:

      Vera! I will wait patiently till your confusingly identical twin boys show up, then I will observe carefully to see which drink they prefer, Star or Gulder. I hope Mr Shoes is taking careful note, lol.

  3. thewordsmythe says:

    Persistence, patience and more persistence. She’ll come round eventually.

    • justjoxy says:

      My dear, I hope she does before June/July. Otherwise it will do her like film trick when the tap is turned off. For good.

  4. lol. I feel you. each baby is so different it’s amazing. like you said, maybe the chick na correct naija babe. haha.

    lol @ the tap switching off soon. She had better have her fill now.

    Meanwhile, glad you put up the subscribe by email option. Great tool.

  5. justjoxy says:

    Naijamom, the girl is eating away now like there’s no tomorrow. Maybe she read my blog? lol.

  6. lucidlilith says:

    Ha ha ha! she seems she has my taste. I hated water and still do. In fact as a new born, I hated breast milk. Only sugary drinks will do thank you very much!

    But now as an adult, sugary drinks make me a little queasy. Strange.

    • justjoxy says:

      Hey Lucidlilith, just between the two of us, her favourite (and only) drink is quite sweet. I tasted it. Lol. Is it because I have a sweet tooth? Thanks for stopping by.

  7. LovePaprika says:

    Abeg o no listen to vera!!! star ke! lolz!

    and its good she is eating now oo 🙂

  8. justjoxy says:

    LovePaprika, welcome. That Vera? No mind am. Thanks, will update on more of Ebaby’s antics soon. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Comments welcome :)

