New neighbours

Christmas has been and gone. I had a nice quiet one, just T, I, and the girls. I cooked this on Christmas day with roast potatoes etc. I cooked jollof rice and baked red fish bream on Boxing day. Sunday, it was this with mashed potatoes. Yesterday, we had efo elegusi (containing dried fish, panla, saki, oxtail, chicken and bokoto) with pounded yam. T and the girls kept grinning at me while they ate, I guess they enjoyed my efforts.

This post however is not about food or the eating of it despite the preceding paragraph. It is about our new neighbours.

They moved into their brand new purpose-built house on the 26th of this month. There had been some speculation as to who they would be, but all was revealed on the day. There are six of them, two grandparents, two parents, and two children. I thought one of the children was a boy, but Egirl has assured me that they are both girls. One’s called Sophie, the other Kathron or something like that. They appear nice enough, but to me they seem rather wooden.

I have glanced into their house anytime I have gone past. Yes I know I was  being nosey, but I just couldn’t help myself. They didn’t appear to have any furniture at all on the first day, but had somehow acquired a fully fitted kitchen the next time I peeked in.

Egirl was a bit worried about how they’d survive without furniture, but I explained to her that sometimes when families are just starting out, they need to budget, and save money towards the things they want to purchase. I told her this would help them appreciate what they do have, which is each other. I told her T and I hardly had any furniture when we started out, we lived in a rented flat. And see how far we’ve come from that. I think it is important for her to learn about delayed gratification, especially in this society of ours where everything including food is available right now via the buy now pay later credit card scheme. The current mentality seems to be that there is no need to save for something, or wait till you can afford it, when you can have it on credit. So I told her not to worry about the neighbours, they’ll be alright in the end.

Why is a six-year-old concerned about her neighbours?

 ‘What’s her business?’ I hear you ask.

Well, it’s like this you see. She is starting out in real estate pretty young. She is their landlord. They live in their house, in her bedroom.

Thanks for reading, this is my life – as I see it.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New neighbours

  1. NIce! I couldn’t carry on after efo elegusi, did it have bitter leaf in it? Now that, with eba made from sour garri is da bomb!

  2. justjoxy says:

    Unfortunately, I had run out of bitterleaf. Nevertheless, the girls and I had some eba and efo this evening. Went down a treat :). Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Myne Whitman says:

    I laughed out loud at the end of this, and the wooden comment made sense. LOL.

  4. justjoxy says:

    Yay Myne, glad I made you laugh :).

  5. Tessy says:

    Joxy, I am impressed. I smiled too when I realised at the end of your write up, that you were talking about the Doll House.

Comments welcome :)

