Okra pepper

My children have been requesting okra pepper for the past couple of days, I think today’s the day they’ll get to eat it. Okra pepper is the name Egirl coined when she was a toddler to describe all okele type food. Some of my country people call it hand food, others call it swallow. It is simply any dough like cooked meal that is traditionally eaten with the hands. It is formed into a small ball, dipped into a form of stew, and the chewed (or not) then swallowed. One of the many stews it is eaten with is okra stew, usually cooked with or served alongside a chili pepper stew. Hence the name okra pepper.

There are many forms of okele. Today however, I’m guessing we’ll go with gira aka ground rice. Rice that has been ground into a coarse powder is stirred into boiling water until it hardens and cooks, then is eaten with a stew as above.

I  soaked some saltfish a few days ago. I had intended to cook some ackee and saltfish. I hadn’t eaten it in ages but fancied me some. Only thing is, I forgot the fish in the water. You’re only meant to soak it overnight. I changed the water the night after the first soak, and promptly forgot all about the fish till I saw it this morning. I have drained it and put it in the fridge to be attended to later. No, I will not tell you how long it was soaking for. In my defence, the soaking has probably leached out all the salt, so will reduce the amount of time I’ll have to spend boiling it. It has probably leached out all the nutrients too, as T helpfully pointed out to me when he called me from work. This however, will not deter me from cooking and eating it. I have some bacon bits in the fridge, and a tin of ackee in the cupboard.

Talking about the fridge, there are some lamb chops in there just crying out for my attention. They need to be seasoned, then returned to the fridge to marinate. I’m guessing T & I will have them grilled for dinner, along with mashed potatoes, and some broccoli.

Egirl went back to school today after a  week half term break. I miss her. Egirl is not a boarder, she will be back home this afternoon. Etoddler is lying beside me in the bed, pinching my left hand. She has just asked me to leave my hand on her ear. So I will. Ebaby is fast asleep. I hope she is dreaming of me.

This is my life – as I see it. Thanks for stopping by.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Okra pepper

  1. Stopping by real soon for some cooking lessons. I’ve never even sampled ackee and saltfish..

  2. justjoxy says:

    Stop by please 🙂

Comments welcome :)

