In appreciation

 

 

Life can get very busy. There’s a never ending list of things to do, places we have to be etc. And so we too get busy, sometimes too busy to reach out to our loved ones, too busy to let them know how much we care. So I’m taking a little time out, not just to say hello, but also to say thank you, for being in my life, for being you.

T – My best friend. You have given me the best gifts I’ve ever received in my life, including your name, and three beautiful daughters. I can always count on you to listen when I am venting, and to point out when I am wrong. You have spoilt and keep spoiling me, because you are you. You accommodate my weaknesses and celebrate my strengths. I’m a calmer, more laid back person because of your influence. You haven’t tried to change who I am, and in accepting me the way I am, have caused me to change for the better.

Kemi – Ore mi delicate. Do you remember the nickname I gave you when we went to see the film ‘Three Kings’? You shielded your eyes at certain times and I laughed at you for being so squeamish, you a distinguished doctor. You have risen to the top of your field, yet are as sweet and unaffected as the day I met you. You have a generous heart and give freely, prayers, counsel, money, clothes….. You were there when my eldest two were born, waiting with T while I dozed away. The only reason why you missed the arrival of the latest one was because you were waiting for yours too! You have been there through my worst times and my best times too. You have blessed me with a beautiful, talented and accomplished goddaughter. We don’t talk as often as I’d like, but you’d always be in my heart.

ToksA – We met all those many years ago, far away in Kaduna. We met again here and then lost touch again. And now we are back in contact, thanks to that Facebook. You found out through my status update that I was craving bitterleaf and egusi after the birth of my baby, and even though you hadn’t seen me in over 8 years, you took a break from your own very busy life and came all the way down to mine to bring me some, as well as peppersoup. God gave me a voice. And you have caused that voice to be heard. You pointed me towards this site, sent me links, and encouraged me to write. I read your blogs, and was inspired enough to try my hand at it too.

ToksM – ‘Sta mi’ Do you remember when we were in Ife? And you decided you’d had enough of my cheek and ordered me to start calling you ‘Sister T?’ You soon grew fed up of me yelling your name loudly down the halls of the English faculty, and entreated me to cease and desist. You were instrumental into turning me into the lady I am today, you taught me so many things. You brought me into your family, and they welcomed me with open arms. So much so, that my kids and I were able to have a fantastic holiday in Kenya in February with your big brother, F and his family. You once said my imagination was like a wild horse stampeding away, one day you will see my imagination in print, IJN.

Lapsy – We have laughed together so much over the years, and vented too, about the various people we have had cause to encounter. Keep working at your cake making business, it’s early days yet, but if you persevere, you will reap the rewards. Keep looking to He who has redeemed you and called you by name, He remains faithful, even when we are not.

Nkem – We share a love of reading, of writing and of Scrabble! I look forward to our working on a project together in the very near future. I remember your words of encouragement as I faced the scariest surgery in my life to date, you assured me that I would live, and not die.

Bimbo – You have a passion for life that is so amazing. Watching you talk is like viewing a drama. Every word is accompanied with a gesture, you must demonstrate sha. I admire the way you strive to bring out the best in those around you. You are always ready to assist others, even at great cost to yourself, and often feel unappreciated. People may have taken you for granted, but God will reward your labour of love. I remember you coming all the way to DV hospital to see me after my first, you came in the freezing cold with your new baby. You are always ready to listen, to empathize.

Bops – My friend, my aburo. We have come a long way and yet have a long way to go IJN. You always have my back. Remember how you wadded up paper and tossed it at someone’s head on my behalf? You never pass up an opportunity to send me goodies from home whenever you can, I look forward to spending time with you again.

Mayomi – I remember the first time I saw you. You were rejoicing over the birth of your daughter, saying her name over and over again – ‘my joy has come’ She’s 10 now, and you haven’t changed. You celebrate each day God has given you, and rejoice at the blessings each day contains. You’re a pastor now, but still find the time to meet the needs of those around you. Remember when you saw me crying at the bus-stop? You went on to ensure that I had a great bridal shower, surrounded by my friends. After the arrival of our baby, you came round armed with meat, palm oil and various peppers, and cooked me the nicest fried meat stew I have eaten in ages, while your wife and I were cooing over the baby. I can talk to you, knowing that you have my best interests at heart, and are looking out for us. You secured employment for my cousin after he had spent almost a year searching for a job without success. You are a friend, in word and in deed.

 

God has blessed me with these, for now. And indeed, I am thankful.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to In appreciation

  1. Absolutely chuffed. Smitten even. Thanks JK you are a wonderful woman and I cannot possibly overuse the word “talented” along with your name. I thank God that the passage of time has not erased any affection. I’m glad we reconnected and look forward to building fun memories with our families. Love you lots sis!

  2. kemi says:

    Love it!! You are truly talented.

  3. To say I’m honoured to have been mentioned amongst your nearest and dearest would be an understatement.

    Thank you and I look forward to our joint project.

    Love,

    Moi

    • justjoxy says:

      The dream! Yes o, very near, extremely dear. We’ll do it real soon, we must! Je t’aime beaucoup. Don’t know if that’s grammatical, but you catch my drift 🙂

Comments welcome :)

