Saying goodbye is sometimes easy

It is impossible to say exactly when things went wrong, or when our relationship turned sour, but I gradually became aware that things had changed. And not for the better. We had grown up together. We were inseparable, or so I had thought. We had looked after each other, we were that close. And then I realised that somehow, imperceptibly, you had stopped supporting me the way you used to.

You started niggling at me. Started to embarrass me by playing up, even in public. It was obvious to others that I could not rely on you anymore, it took me a lot longer to reluctantly come to the same realisation. I guess I was just being sentimental, as we had been together all my life.

My every waking moment was consumed with thoughts of how difficult my life had become, and even at night sleep was elusive because of the pain you inflicted on me.

And finally, I’d had enough. I decided to cut all ties with you. I reasoned that taking that drastic decision would not cause me any more pain or discomfort than that you had already caused. Before I left you, I asked if I could see you to say goodbye, but was told it was not to be.

So on that day, I went to sleep, knowing that it was the last time I’d be with you. When I woke up, I asked what you had been like when you were leaving, and was told that you had been totally unrecognisable. All that you have left for me to remember you by is a scar.

A requiem for my old hip.

About Joxy

When I'm not cooking or thinking about cooking, then I'm writing, or thinking about writing. I love misdirection....nothing is ever what it seems!
This entry was posted in Meet me and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Saying goodbye is sometimes easy

  1. Help me to understand the point of hiding such talent behind a blog? I just don’t get it!
    Matt 6:22

  2. @ Pawpawandmango, blogging is not hiding, for some, it’s taking a first tentative step into the ocean of writing and publishing. Bear with her, she’ll get there someday.

  3. justjoxy says:

    Thanks friends, yes I will 🙂

  4. Pingback: Apologies « Justjoxy's Blog

  5. Myne Whitman says:

    I must have missed this. So you’re a bionic woman eh? 🙂

  6. Jaycee (E.A) says:

    Wow. Hip replacement, eh? Awww.

    PS: Written so well and got me a little emotional. I linked back to this from your post on May 9th 2011.

  7. Nutty J says:

    Wow…you write very well. Lovely farewell

Comments welcome :)

