Tags

Very short post.

E2 got invited to a party yesterday.

‘Mama, it’s on a Sunday’ she tells me. I haven’t looked at the invitation yet, but the reply trips off my tongue easily.

‘Sorry, you can’t go. We’ll be going to church.’

‘Okay mama’ she says, and wanders off.

A while later, I glance at the invitation, and I have to rub my eyes as I reread it.

There’s a note attached to it. It says all 17 members of her class have been invited, but the venue can only sit 12. So the first 12 to respond will get to go.

Seriously? How do you explain this to a child? Oh, I didn’t dial fast enough so you won’t get to go to the party?

The note did go on to say hopefully not all invited would attend or words to that effect, but I still don’t get it.

Maybe this is perfectly normal and acceptable, but me, I just don’t get it. 

What are your thoughts?

Thanks for stopping by Smile.

p.s Even if we had nowhere else to go on the day, I’d have declined the invitation. On principle. As it is, I’m not going to dignify it with a reply. Like my people say, we are not being suffered for partiesto that extent in our house. Iya party o je wa to yen ni ile wa. 

