Tags

, , , , , ,

My littlest one is at school now, so my thoughts have turned towards going back to work. In an office. It’s been over a decade since I’ve last done this, and the thought is a bit daunting.

The upside of this is that I genuinely love IT, and especially the aspect of software testing. I don’t consider myself a geek, but I love to tweak things, especially when it comes to my beloved aged HTC Sensation. I rooted it straight out of the box the day it was delivered and have installed so many custom ROMS since, that I’ve lost count. T-Mobile wanted to charge me just to get an unlock code from them, did it myself for free. A friend calls me a hacker. I wouldn’t go that far, but….

The world of testing has changed in my absence, and I’m doing my best to get up to speed. There are words like Ajax (not the bathroom cleaner), Cucumber, Gherkin (inedible) and Ruby (not the gemstone) swirling around. Almost enough to make one want to go off the Rails. And yes, I’m showing off with all the Selenium-esque terms I have acquired. All that remains is for me to learn them.

I’ve had help in getting my CV presentable (thank you R!), so hopefully I’ll be transitioning from a stay at home mum to an IT professional in the near future. My dream role will be a remote-working one, but for now, I’ll take whatever will help enhance my skills.

I’ve been advised to set up a LinkedIn profile. Someone on Google said a profile picture is a great idea. I scrolled through my Facebook pictures to see if I could a suitable one. I soon realised that in most of them, I am either wearing native, and or grinning like a Cheshire cat. And when I’m not grinning, I’m trying to look sultry, and scowling at the camera as a result.

I came across this picture though, and was sorely tempted to put it up. E1 asked me ‘Mama, how come the hair is sticking up like that. Does it have wires in it?’ I answered ‘No dear, it’s done with thread. Would you like me to do your hair like that?’ ‘No thank you mama’ came her swift response. I might try the style out on E3, but only when she is fast asleep, obviously.

I put the picture on Twitter. I got one job offer, but not in the field I am aiming for.

644300_10201222476740628_911127790_n

What are your thoughts? Thanks for stopping by :)

